Which oil for me: 2002 Chevy Silverado 5.3l

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone. This is my first time posting on BITOG so i might as well start off by getting your opinions on the oil/filter combo for my truck and my style of driving.
Well i bought a 2002 Chevy Silverado 4x4 5.3l with 180K on the clock. I have no idea what kind of oil combos the previous owner/s have used. On the oil fill tube on the engine it shows that 5w30 is recommended. I have changed the oil twice since i have owned the truck, once at 180k and again 4000 miles later. Both times i have used 5w30 Valvoline Conventional with a Driveworks filter from Advance Auto. My truck is currently at 188,030 so it is time to change the oil again. This time i have bought the same Valvoline conv. and a AcDelco Pf46 filter.

My driving is schedule is basically the same week to week... On Monday/Wednesday/Friday i make about 2-3 5 mile trips for work (Drive 5 miles shut off for a few hours and repeat).
On Tuesday/Thursday i drive about 20 miles to college and about 20 miles back.
On Saturdays i sometimes drive about 50-75 miles to go out and eat and Sundays it usually doesn't move.

I was thinking based on my driving style what would you recommend for the oil that i use? Im open to all suggestions on what you think will work best.

Sounds like you already have a nice plan. I'd probably run a Wix filter, but that is just personal preference. Any API SN conventional should do you well.

You could probably get away with a 5K / 6 month OCI. I would use PYB, although VWB is also good. I would also upgrade the filter to a Fram TG / WIX / or even a AC Delco if they still make your model number with the metal center tube (vs the e-core).

Originally Posted By: gregk24