Project Malibu resurection: Death and rebirth

Status
Not open for further replies.
threeputtpar, yes I have some experience with them, albeit not much. My wife had one in a 97 Sunfire. That thing sure would scoot! I would love to drive it with a manual transmission...

As a mechanic, I've done some work to them- timing chain, cylinder head and cooling system work. I'll agree- that stat/water pump is just about the worst location someone could dream up! I have a new OEM one coming and don't intend to fool with it, unless needed. No preventative maintenance there!

A small update:

The water tube from the lower radiator hose to the t-stat was a nit rusty, and not wanting any issues, I blasted it and sent to the powder coater.

I also cleaned up the belt tensioner mount and throttle body (having a bead blaster is really nice!), as well as got the pistons about 90% clean. I'll hit them again when my ultra sonic cleaner shows up. I talked to the machinist this morning and I'm on deck... Told him to surface the block and do the valves and head surface. May be done this week, though he's not sure.

Also: Kudos to fellow member Trav for helping me out with rebuilding my fuel injectors!

20140317_175029_zpsugunjfvp.jpg

20140317_175123_zps9glprpkx.jpg

Originally Posted By: asand1
Is this a different engine than the quad four?

Yes, slightly. The Quad 4 was the original, and this engine shares many things in common with the Quad 4, but is called the "Twin Cam" I believe they built and tuned this engine to have a bit more low end torque. The Quad made good power, but only higher up. This engine has a bit smaller bore and longer stroke, with a more torque friendly head.

The block showed up today, along with the timing cover and oil pan. I was busy doing brake work and cleaning parts, so not too much action yet.

A pic of the block:

20140318_144559_zps8r9qxaet.jpg

And another showing my ridge ream and hone job, as well as the machinist's surfacing work: