Motul 300V compared to Redline???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: 92GTA
Really? They say its JASO MA (MA1 specifically) approved for wet clutch and contains 0.05%.

As per the spec table I posted earlier, MA1 means it offers less friction than MA2, probably because of all that moly, as LoneRanger noted above. My guess is that MA1 assures enough friction for most wet clutches, but some clutches would be better served by MA2 levels of friction.

I have no personal experience with Ducati, so I don't know how picky their clutches are when it comes to the required friction levels. Does your owner's manual call for MA2? If so, I'd probably stick to that.

Originally Posted By: 92GTA
I bought another new Ducati superbike but the dealer I used this time seems to really be behind Motul 300V. In my last Ducati and all of my vehicles for that matter, I run Redline.

I really know nothing about the Motul 300V. Is it a group IV or a group V? If it's a group V, how does it really compare to Redline under heavy use?

I'm trying to decide if I should just keep using it, or switch the bike over to Redline. I have my reasons for wanting to use Redline.

Thanks! Alex

For one, congrats on your new Duc! The Redline and Motul 300V are similar oils, but there are definitely some differences in formulation between them. Redline states that they meet/exceeed JASO MA requirements, while Motul states, "Above existing standards, wet clutch compatibility checked on JASO T903 test". Motul always lists their JASO standards and their resulting JASO certified oil code if it meets any JASO standard, but if you look on their bottle it's lacking either of the certs. None the less, they both claim they meet JASO standards, but both do not provide the oil code showing certification from JASO (but again, that doesn't mean they don't meet the certification either).