Getting a Mossy 500 Slugster

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have an 870 Wingmaster already that has a 28" barrel and is pretty good for bird hunting. I found this Mossberg 500A with a smoothbore 24" Slugster barrel and I know you can't have too many guns but does anyone have much experience with this gun? I put it on layaway at $175 used for it. Has a screwed in sling and rifle sights - seems to be pretty solid.

There's a little tiny bit of what I thought was rust in parts of the stock but the guy said it was just bluing salt. It's very minimal and about as thin as a fingernail. Can it turn orange like that?

Just wondering if the Mossy 500 is a good shotgun, or back up shotgun. I'd probably use it for slugs and HD.

I have one with two barrels, one with cylinder bore and choke tubes, and the other barrel is a rifled barrel with open sights.

I prefer the rifled barrel for accuracy with the 300 gr. saboted loads.

Last edited:
My buddy uses one for coyote hunting, its his gun for the dogs that come in without notice.

He has a scope on his, 5inch pattern at 100yards. BUT, he makes his own slugs with special sabots

The Mossberg 500 is a real no frill workhorse, but its a solid design. The very similar model 590 (very few differences) was the shotgun of choice for the U.S. Army for many years until the semi auto Benelli started replacing it.

It will be a very good backup or primary gun for you. I cut my teeth hunting upland game with a 500 Bantam. Never had a jam and it got me a lot of meat before I outgrew it and got a Browning A5 Light 12ga.

It's a well built shotgun and will last very long for its intended use. I recommend some serious cleaning. You just don't know what previous owner did or didn't do. Include the trigger assembly when taking it down. If you need any help PM me they are pretty easy to work on.

Once you are thoroughly clean you can begin to know what you are working with slug and accuracy wise.