I see air filter tests and info...None for oil filters??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just what the title says, either I haven't found them yet or don't know where to look. I'd love to see some comprehensive testing done on the major oil filters out there. I've got some basic knowledge as to which are better than others, but no hard evidence. If none is here, does anybody have a link to someplace that does??

Thanks
Ryan

Some folks here are of the opinion that you can't go wrong with ANY oil filter as long as it is not painted orange.

It would be a fun experiment to take a new vehicle, such as an Ecotech 2.2L powered car, and run it without an oil filter for 100K with regular 5K oil changes, to see what kind of wear, if any occured.

I ran my wifes new Malibu (2.2L Ecotech) to 4K on the factory fill, and saw nothing in the oil filter cartridge.

quote:

t would be a fun experiment to take a new vehicle, such as an Ecotech 2.2L powered car, and run it without an oil filter for 100K with regular 5K oil changes, to see what kind of wear, if any occured.

Plenty occurs. Will it lunch the engine
dunno.gif

Look at this graph:
 -

Now this guy "digested" the oil sample before running it through whatever machine that they measured the particle levels in the oil which resulted in WAY high wear metals. These metals would normally be filtered by the lab so that you would see only the resultant wear particles and not the big chunks causing the particle level wear metals

That is (if you referrence the chart), the test sample was void of (probably) anything below 20-25 micron particles (except in the MotorGuard which filtered down to 1 or 2 microns). If, on the otherhand, there had been NO FILTER, there would be all the "even MORE wear causing"25- who knows what size "wear causing particles" continually circulating around knocking off more particle level wear indicators.

Here's the entire study.

quote:

Originally posted by Pick: