'12 VW Passat TDI - Liqui Moly Top Tec 4200 5w-30

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok so I did a couple of Oil Analysis on my '12 Passat TDI with mid 40k mileage. I pulled a sample at roughly 5k and then again on the same oil at 7.5K. The lab seems to be concerned about the high level of aluminum at 5K and even more concerned that it increased again at 7.5K. I'm new to these oil analysis reports so i'm hoping i can get some clarification about what I am seeing. My TDI currently has 68,500 miles and I am at about 5K on the current Liqui Moly Top-Tec 4200 5w-30 that my mechanic recommends.

Based on these results, should I be concerned? I didn't do an analysis when the dealer was using the VW recommended Castrol so i dont' have anything to compare.

Appreciate any input/clarification!

5K oil analysis report

12Passat6-18-13IDremovedreport_zps64397c77.jpg

Second Report on same oil after 7.5K miles

12Passat7-17-13IDremovedreport_zps57ee25e8.jpg

Meh, it's an overpriced oil. I don't see the big draw to it. There are plenty of other oils that would be cheaper and work better. Clearly it isn't a good fit for your engine.

dparm, I'm open to suggestions? I commute over 120 miles a day, so I put a lot of miles on very quickly. I wish I had gotten an analysis when the Castrol was using in the first 30K to compare. I've started looking at other oils offered on TDI sites and the prices seem to be fairly comparable so I'm not against changing brands. The Liqui Moly was just what my VW/Audi only mechanic uses regularly. I can have him source anything I want.

Also, any thoughts about why such high reading of aluminum???

thanks,

I would try some Rotella T6 5w40 and see how you do. It is inexpensive enough at Walmart to change every 5-6000 miles.

"Also, any thoughts about why such high reading of aluminum???"

Yeah, something is coming apart.

Last edited:
Your post has caught my attention. The aluminum elevation is interesting.