100K on the Accord .....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mud

As I come up on 100k miles on my 08 Accord V6 I thought I would post some unscientific observations that may be of interest to those owning this model. Definitely not saying this car is any better than another, just posting my own experience.

I'm the only owner, bought it new. To date, I have had no warranty issues with the car. I drive it normally, not excessively fast nor slow, I'm an average driver. With about a 50/50 mix of city/highway driving, I average 28-30 mpg.

I did have concerns about the VCM setup, which I believe impacted the spark plugs. I replaced them at 44K miles as PM and several were indeed carboned up, no CEL light, but I was glad I pulled them. I just replaced them again but to my surprise I found that aside from slightly more additional build-up on the VCM-affected cylinders they were in good shape. However, I did submit the plug change costs to Honda as related to the class action taken regarding engine misfires. If they reimburse fine, if not I'm not that worried, other things are more important to me.

Rear brake pads wore out prematurely as you can find on internet forums related to issues. I did a complete brake job with Akebono ceramic pads F/R around 40K miles and a recent check showed a little less than half pads remaining. Very pleased with the performance of these pads. I did not go back to Honda about the rear pads, I simply simply did a brake job and moved on.