Recent Topics
People are stupid
by Stelth
07/29/14 09:28 AM
Castrol SynBlend 5w/30 5,500miles 12 Canyon
by NewC-05
07/29/14 07:47 AM
Generator Questions / Comments
by Vikas
07/29/14 07:23 AM
Why do some brands only publish tq and not hp?
by LoneRanger
07/29/14 06:49 AM
Replaced Opti-Coat with CQuartz UK - Holy Gloss!
by The Critic
07/29/14 02:59 AM
At 65
by OneEyeJack
07/29/14 01:25 AM
roofing felt
by bmwjohn
07/29/14 12:09 AM
Pennzoil Ultra 10w30 1,704 on PU 1997 Camry 194k
by Nick1994
07/29/14 12:04 AM
MaxLife 5w30, 5k oil on 07 Sienna with 95k
by raitchison
07/28/14 10:50 PM
big car crash
by morris
07/28/14 10:12 PM
U.S. says Russia violated nuclear missile treaty.
by dave1251
07/28/14 09:58 PM
Rotella in a civic MT
by gametom
07/28/14 09:51 PM
Newest Members
papafordboy, mrmjmab61, dink28m7, Titus12, JayBirdy
50791 Registered Users
Who's Online
83 registered (97tbird, 19jacobob93, 123Saab, Astro14, Andy636, 137_Trenton, 5 invisible), 1817 Guests and 229 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
50791 Members
64 Forums
216979 Topics
3416043 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3286485 - 02/18/14 05:39 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Drew99GT Offline


Registered: 10/11/02
Posts: 20527
Loc: Colorado Springs
I have no idea how so many people get infected with this stuff; up to date browsers today will not, by themselves, allow a drive by download, nor will Windows 7/8 with the UAC settings enabled. It must be from downloads or script/plugin based exploits, but even those are rare if people make sure things like Java/Flash are up to date. In addition, Firefox by default prompts the user to run Java applications.

If you got some kind of adware/spyware, stop and make sure ALL your software/browsers and all plugins are up to date. For instance, Adobe just put out a Flash update a day after putting out another update to fix vulnerabilities, when a new exploit was discovered in the 1st update!

Avast will update that stuff automatically, and there is other stand alone products that will automatically update Flash/Java etc., since their built in updaters are useless.


Edited by Drew99GT (02/18/14 05:41 PM)

Top
#3286549 - 02/18/14 06:57 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Oldmoparguy1 Online   content


Registered: 01/21/05
Posts: 3958
Loc: Charlotte, NC
Great info! Trying to think what I might have done to get infected. Sat. I updated Avast, earlier I had done several dogpile searches. All our equipment is behind a router.. It's been several years since I had an actual infection. Dunno..

Anyway, thanks

Wayne
_________________________
"A gun is like a parachute. If you need one, and don't have one, you'll probably never need one again!" unclepaddy

Top
#3286722 - 02/18/14 09:02 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Rand Offline


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 7218
Loc: Akron,Ohio
eset often finds stuff mwb doesnt.

start in safe mode w/networking

http://www.eset.com/int/home/products/online-scanner/
_________________________
2011 Subaru Forester X Prem. 5MT

Top
#3286847 - 02/19/14 12:11 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
skulldrinker Offline


Registered: 12/14/11
Posts: 21
Loc: Bolingbrook, IL
Originally Posted By: Oldmoparguy1

--cut--
I fired up firefox on my desktop the other day and was seeing real estate adds jumping around on the screen. I haven't used FF in several weeks, so have no idea where it came from. Avast claimed it blocked something.
--cut--


In FF you might have acquired some unwanted "Add-Ons". Got to Tools>Add-ons and disable or remove unwanted adware, search engines, and tool bars that get passed by with anti-virus/malware scans.


Edited by skulldrinker (02/19/14 12:12 AM)

Top
#3286946 - 02/19/14 07:44 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Triple_Se7en Online   content


Registered: 12/04/04
Posts: 6305
Loc: 1/2 hr. north of Detroit
Originally Posted By: Oldmoparguy1


I fired up firefox on my desktop the other day and was seeing real estate adds jumping around on the screen. I haven't used FF in several weeks, so have no idea where it came from. Avast claimed it blocked something.

I used to run something called Adaware some years ago. I DL'ed a fresh copy but it turned out to be an anti-virus thing. Not what I wanted.

TLA
Wayne


Inside Firefox Add-Ons is a wonderful tool called Adblock Plus. Load it.
Also get a real antivirus program. The free ones help with antivirus, but not adware, spyware and malware.

Arm your computer properly and this problem will cease.

Top
#3287109 - 02/19/14 11:09 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Triple_Se7en]
Drew99GT Offline


Registered: 10/11/02
Posts: 20527
Loc: Colorado Springs
Originally Posted By: Triple_Se7en

Also get a real antivirus program. The free ones help with antivirus, but not adware, spyware and malware.

Arm your computer properly and this problem will cease.


You keep saying this non sense; the free antivirus products have THE EXACT SAME ANTIVIRUS/ANTIMALWARE/ANTISPYWARE/ANTIADWARE engines as the paid versions. They usually don't include the firewalls anbd some of the other premium features, of which, there are free solutions that surpass the paid products.

Top
#3287135 - 02/19/14 11:28 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
daman Offline


Registered: 09/23/06
Posts: 10439
Loc: Bad Axe, MI
And usually no auto update,scans or real time protection,but on demand scans yes picks up the same nasties.
_________________________
"Always"....Mobil 1

Current fill: AFE 0w30

Top
#3287187 - 02/19/14 12:10 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Drew99GT]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 24817
Loc: Illinoistan
Originally Posted By: Drew99GT
the free antivirus products have THE EXACT SAME ANTIVIRUS/ANTIMALWARE/ANTISPYWARE/ANTIADWARE engines as the paid versions. They usually don't include the firewalls anbd some of the other premium features, of which, there are free solutions that surpass the paid products.

Yup. At least that's the case with AVG Free that I'm using on some of my PCs...

http://free.avg.com/us-en/free-downloads#compare


_________________________
'02 530i (PU 5W-40)
'08 C300 4Matic (M1 0W-40)
'13 F700 GS (Spectro 15W-50)

Top
#3287189 - 02/19/14 12:12 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: daman]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 24817
Loc: Illinoistan
Originally Posted By: daman
And usually no auto update,scans or real time protection,

Not true, based on my experience.
_________________________
'02 530i (PU 5W-40)
'08 C300 4Matic (M1 0W-40)
'13 F700 GS (Spectro 15W-50)

Top
#3287234 - 02/19/14 01:05 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: daman]
Drew99GT Offline


Registered: 10/11/02
Posts: 20527
Loc: Colorado Springs
Originally Posted By: daman
And usually no auto update,scans or real time protection,but on demand scans yes picks up the same nasties.


Actually, the free antivirus products widely used, Avast, AVG, Avira, Panda, etc. all have real time protection, to include web filtering. In fact, I don't know of any free antivirus product that does not include those features. They all also include scheduled scanning, auto updates etc.

Top
#3338661 - 04/10/14 11:04 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Drew99GT]
Oldmoparguy1 Online   content


Registered: 01/21/05
Posts: 3958
Loc: Charlotte, NC
A followup,
I had drive by infections in firefox on 2 systems. Malwarebytes cured both. The desktop was running Avast and the laptop was running AVG. Neither caught the adwhare. Both systems have Opera, which is my default browser. Neither was infected.

Wayne
_________________________
"A gun is like a parachute. If you need one, and don't have one, you'll probably never need one again!" unclepaddy

Top
#3338686 - 04/10/14 11:41 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Drew99GT Offline


Registered: 10/11/02
Posts: 20527
Loc: Colorado Springs
How do you know it was a driveby? The only place you can get drivebys on up to date browsers is through vulnerabilities in plugins, usually served up through ad networks with Java and Flash. Those are incredibly rare. You'd have to go to the darkest corners of the internet to find a web page serving up exploits designed to attack a web browser. It's not like several years back when that kind of stuff was incredibly prevalent; browsers are coded to stop that stuff.

Yet another reason to run https://www.malwarebytes.org/antiexploit/


Edited by Drew99GT (04/10/14 11:42 AM)

Top
#3338791 - 04/10/14 01:06 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Drew99GT]
daman Offline


Registered: 09/23/06
Posts: 10439
Loc: Bad Axe, MI
Originally Posted By: Drew99GT
Originally Posted By: daman
And usually no auto update,scans or real time protection,but on demand scans yes picks up the same nasties.


Actually, the free antivirus products widely used, Avast, AVG, Avira, Panda, etc. all have real time protection, to include web filtering. In fact, I don't know of any free antivirus product that does not include those features. They all also include scheduled scanning, auto updates etc.

I should have clarified, I was talking about malware/spyware stand alone programs, etc, yes most free AV does have auto features.
_________________________
"Always"....Mobil 1

Current fill: AFE 0w30

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2