Recent Topics
anti dry rot wax availability
by friendly_jacek
28 seconds ago
A few Newegg anti-virus deals...
by Hokiefyd
4 minutes 19 seconds ago
Exhaust paste or silicone?
by BMWTurboDzl
55 minutes 23 seconds ago
(4) Virgin Filters Cut-(2)FL400S-L14476
-PH7317

by DirtyMoe21
Today at 07:30 AM
Synthetic Blends, redemption through dexos?
by wemay
Today at 07:04 AM
New job needed, territory sales desired
by Chris Meutsch
Today at 06:52 AM
PPM calculations
by HighMileCummins
Today at 01:56 AM
Overheard at Toyota
by bobbob
Today at 01:39 AM
10/21-11/17 AutoZone Ad
by tenderloin
Yesterday at 11:29 PM
Digital Pop Star Round 2: Hatsune Miku in 'Murrica
by Nick R
Yesterday at 10:33 PM
Driving on a metal grate
by y_p_w
Yesterday at 10:11 PM
Seem like antique old school guy dont give a rat .
by MetalSlug
Yesterday at 09:52 PM
Newest Members
l1tech, greyghost, banderso, ovidiu, joeymaker
51648 Registered Users
Who's Online
100 registered (05LGTLtd, AandPDan, AITG, 2004tdigls, 147_Grain, 10 invisible), 1478 Guests and 207 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
51648 Members
64 Forums
220991 Topics
3492874 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3286485 - 02/18/14 05:39 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Drew99GT Offline


Registered: 10/11/02
Posts: 20736
Loc: Colorado Springs
I have no idea how so many people get infected with this stuff; up to date browsers today will not, by themselves, allow a drive by download, nor will Windows 7/8 with the UAC settings enabled. It must be from downloads or script/plugin based exploits, but even those are rare if people make sure things like Java/Flash are up to date. In addition, Firefox by default prompts the user to run Java applications.

If you got some kind of adware/spyware, stop and make sure ALL your software/browsers and all plugins are up to date. For instance, Adobe just put out a Flash update a day after putting out another update to fix vulnerabilities, when a new exploit was discovered in the 1st update!

Avast will update that stuff automatically, and there is other stand alone products that will automatically update Flash/Java etc., since their built in updaters are useless.


Edited by Drew99GT (02/18/14 05:41 PM)

Top
#3286549 - 02/18/14 06:57 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Oldmoparguy1 Offline


Registered: 01/21/05
Posts: 4052
Loc: Charlotte, NC
Great info! Trying to think what I might have done to get infected. Sat. I updated Avast, earlier I had done several dogpile searches. All our equipment is behind a router.. It's been several years since I had an actual infection. Dunno..

Anyway, thanks

Wayne
_________________________
"I ask sir, what is the militia? It is the whole people except for a few politicians." George Mason

Top
#3286722 - 02/18/14 09:02 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Rand Offline


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 7749
Loc: Barberton,Ohio
eset often finds stuff mwb doesnt.

start in safe mode w/networking

http://www.eset.com/int/home/products/online-scanner/
_________________________
2015 Forester I-Premium 6MT


Top
#3286847 - 02/19/14 12:11 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
skulldrinker Offline


Registered: 12/14/11
Posts: 21
Loc: Bolingbrook, IL
Originally Posted By: Oldmoparguy1

--cut--
I fired up firefox on my desktop the other day and was seeing real estate adds jumping around on the screen. I haven't used FF in several weeks, so have no idea where it came from. Avast claimed it blocked something.
--cut--


In FF you might have acquired some unwanted "Add-Ons". Got to Tools>Add-ons and disable or remove unwanted adware, search engines, and tool bars that get passed by with anti-virus/malware scans.


Edited by skulldrinker (02/19/14 12:12 AM)

Top
#3286946 - 02/19/14 07:44 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Triple_Se7en Online   content


Registered: 12/04/04
Posts: 6369
Loc: 1/2 hr. north of Detroit
Originally Posted By: Oldmoparguy1


I fired up firefox on my desktop the other day and was seeing real estate adds jumping around on the screen. I haven't used FF in several weeks, so have no idea where it came from. Avast claimed it blocked something.

I used to run something called Adaware some years ago. I DL'ed a fresh copy but it turned out to be an anti-virus thing. Not what I wanted.

TLA
Wayne


Inside Firefox Add-Ons is a wonderful tool called Adblock Plus. Load it.
Also get a real antivirus program. The free ones help with antivirus, but not adware, spyware and malware.

Arm your computer properly and this problem will cease.

Top
#3287109 - 02/19/14 11:09 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Triple_Se7en]
Drew99GT Offline


Registered: 10/11/02
Posts: 20736
Loc: Colorado Springs
Originally Posted By: Triple_Se7en

Also get a real antivirus program. The free ones help with antivirus, but not adware, spyware and malware.

Arm your computer properly and this problem will cease.


You keep saying this non sense; the free antivirus products have THE EXACT SAME ANTIVIRUS/ANTIMALWARE/ANTISPYWARE/ANTIADWARE engines as the paid versions. They usually don't include the firewalls anbd some of the other premium features, of which, there are free solutions that surpass the paid products.

Top
#3287135 - 02/19/14 11:28 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
daman Offline


Registered: 09/23/06
Posts: 10486
Loc: Bad Axe, MI
And usually no auto update,scans or real time protection,but on demand scans yes picks up the same nasties.
_________________________
"Always"....Mobil 1

Current fill: AFE 0w30

Top
#3287187 - 02/19/14 12:10 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Drew99GT]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 25909
Loc: Michigan
Originally Posted By: Drew99GT
the free antivirus products have THE EXACT SAME ANTIVIRUS/ANTIMALWARE/ANTISPYWARE/ANTIADWARE engines as the paid versions. They usually don't include the firewalls anbd some of the other premium features, of which, there are free solutions that surpass the paid products.

Yup. At least that's the case with AVG Free that I'm using on some of my PCs...

http://free.avg.com/us-en/free-downloads#compare


_________________________
'02 530i (PU 5W-40)
'08 C300 4Matic (M1 0W-40)
'13 F700 GS (BMW HP 15W-50)

Top
#3287189 - 02/19/14 12:12 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: daman]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 25909
Loc: Michigan
Originally Posted By: daman
And usually no auto update,scans or real time protection,

Not true, based on my experience.
_________________________
'02 530i (PU 5W-40)
'08 C300 4Matic (M1 0W-40)
'13 F700 GS (BMW HP 15W-50)

Top
#3287234 - 02/19/14 01:05 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: daman]
Drew99GT Offline


Registered: 10/11/02
Posts: 20736
Loc: Colorado Springs
Originally Posted By: daman
And usually no auto update,scans or real time protection,but on demand scans yes picks up the same nasties.


Actually, the free antivirus products widely used, Avast, AVG, Avira, Panda, etc. all have real time protection, to include web filtering. In fact, I don't know of any free antivirus product that does not include those features. They all also include scheduled scanning, auto updates etc.

Top
#3338661 - 04/10/14 11:04 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Drew99GT]
Oldmoparguy1 Offline


Registered: 01/21/05
Posts: 4052
Loc: Charlotte, NC
A followup,
I had drive by infections in firefox on 2 systems. Malwarebytes cured both. The desktop was running Avast and the laptop was running AVG. Neither caught the adwhare. Both systems have Opera, which is my default browser. Neither was infected.

Wayne
_________________________
"I ask sir, what is the militia? It is the whole people except for a few politicians." George Mason

Top
#3338686 - 04/10/14 11:41 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Drew99GT Offline


Registered: 10/11/02
Posts: 20736
Loc: Colorado Springs
How do you know it was a driveby? The only place you can get drivebys on up to date browsers is through vulnerabilities in plugins, usually served up through ad networks with Java and Flash. Those are incredibly rare. You'd have to go to the darkest corners of the internet to find a web page serving up exploits designed to attack a web browser. It's not like several years back when that kind of stuff was incredibly prevalent; browsers are coded to stop that stuff.

Yet another reason to run https://www.malwarebytes.org/antiexploit/


Edited by Drew99GT (04/10/14 11:42 AM)

Top
#3338791 - 04/10/14 01:06 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Drew99GT]
daman Offline


Registered: 09/23/06
Posts: 10486
Loc: Bad Axe, MI
Originally Posted By: Drew99GT
Originally Posted By: daman
And usually no auto update,scans or real time protection,but on demand scans yes picks up the same nasties.


Actually, the free antivirus products widely used, Avast, AVG, Avira, Panda, etc. all have real time protection, to include web filtering. In fact, I don't know of any free antivirus product that does not include those features. They all also include scheduled scanning, auto updates etc.

I should have clarified, I was talking about malware/spyware stand alone programs, etc, yes most free AV does have auto features.
_________________________
"Always"....Mobil 1

Current fill: AFE 0w30

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2