AC Delco vs Mopar vs Motorcraft parts

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just thought I'd throw this question out there for fun. Out of the three, who has the higher quality parts? Interested in seeing the answers
smile.gif

Motorcraft is the only one who hasn't used junk e cores at some point in their oil filters.

Not sure if you can compare oem to oem since most parts are vehicle specific but I've had good experience with Motorcraft so far.

I'm a UPS diesel semi mechanic but started off as a car mechanic at a dealer eons ago.
It seemed many AC Delco parts were designed to have a limited lifespan. It's as if GM didn't want a bunch of 1996 Cavaliers still on the road in 2014 unlike a 96' Civic which many are still running around.

Originally Posted By: mclasser
Just thought I'd throw this question out there for fun. Out of the three, who has the higher quality parts? Interested in seeing the answers
smile.gif

No one brand makes only good parts.

Folks 'know what they know', so there are a lot of anecdotal favorites, but it really depends on which part for what platform.

I stick with vintage Mopar NOS parts for my K car.This modern stuff is junk.Its not ther brand of the parts (Mopar/MC/Delco) its who made them and to what spec.The best company in the world could make a part but if the OEM spec'd a lousy grade thats what you get.Like Ford demanding that the supplier of the TeleTouch shift motor for the 58 Edsel make it unable to withstand heat and water and make it a weakling that couldnt force the trans out of park when the pawl is jammed on an incline.Thats bad engineering,not a bad brand or maker....

I have had great luck with Motorcraft parts: USA made, reasonably priced, high quality, and long lived. They remind me of what an OEM part should be - somebody else put in the time and effort to find the best part at the right price.