Does Techron work?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, I know that I may get hammered for this, but I have searched the forum, as well as the internet, and can't find a good answer. Also, I am a noob and not a chemical expert.

Do fuel additives like Techron concentrate really work? Or are they snake oil? If some of them work, which is the best? If you are citing a study or comparison article, please say so.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
If you're asking "does Techron work?", the answer is yes. If you're asking "do other additives work like Techron?" the answer is "maybe", but mostly "no".

Techron and Regane are two that have been demonstrated to perform as claimed. Red Line SL-1 and SeaFoam are also supposed to be the real deal, but most of the other so-called fuel-system cleaners are only good at cleaning your wallet.

Techron is used by dealers and others in the trade.

But if your injectors need to be removed and rebuilt it will probably not fix the problem.

So to the extent that something in the fuel can help with injectors and cylinder deposits, its the best available.

Also follow directions and use it at the specified frequency. Not every fill-up.

Originally Posted By: Hsnberg
If you are citing a study or comparison article, please say so.

White paper from Redline (their SI-1 product is formulated with PEA): http://www.redlineoil.com/content/files/tech/S1-1 Tech Info.pdf