Troubling UOA

Status
Not open for further replies.
There is a lot of wear going on there, and there has been for a while now. I don't think a 10k change interval is appropriate for your driving style or habits -- the oil is falling out of grade and you've got heavy fuel contamination that isn't being burned off. Are you doing a lot of city driving?

I would say that my driving is 70% city, if you can call my area city, running Castrol LL03, no fuel additives, and B5 fuel. I am also a fairly heavy footed driver. Also, the high numbers on the last 2 UOAs is cause the car was brand new. They were run on samples at 10K miles and 20K miles

I don't know squat, but I'd do what B-S suggests; if a 5K interval produces 1/4 the wear...

I'd try to establish whether the wear is linear, or geometric etc.

Your engine has only had 3 oil changes in 30K. Thats about 3-5 less OCIs than the average person. While your wear is high its due to the long OCIs and the engine breaking in. If you want to see if you can get lower wear, do a few short OCIs and then sample. That oil looks WEAK as well. What oil is specified for this engine? It looks like it needs to move up to M1 0w40 if that is an approved oil. I'm assuming this is a diesel engine?

Quote:

Did coolant somehow get in the oil? The K+ is lower but was really high initially.

Saw that but the glycol test is 0. Wonder if that is a valid test for VW coolant.

Originally Posted By: ls1mike
What is cheaper? An engine or a couple of extra oil changes a year. I would not go 10K.

Definitely the oil. If I'm sitting on a ticking time bomb though, I want to trade it in before [censored] hits the fan.

Originally Posted By: simple_gifts
I don't know squat, but I'd do what B-S suggests; if a 5K interval produces 1/4 the wear...

Will do a couple shorter OCIs and see what it does.

Originally Posted By: volk06