Recent Topics
MC FL-820S, 7.6K miles, 2012 F-250
by car51
07/24/16 04:41 PM
Scion tC Radiator Fan troubleshooting
by sky
07/24/16 03:59 PM
Does Americastire sell tires from the DTD list?
by zorobabel
07/24/16 03:54 PM
My $250 Saturn climbed Mt Washington
by eljefino
07/24/16 03:07 PM
Coolant change issue
by renegade_987
07/24/16 03:05 PM
Shell X100 30/40?
by FordCapriDriver
07/24/16 02:59 PM
Do you reuse ring gear bolts?
by buck91
07/24/16 02:54 PM
Wonder if anyone with NASCAR has noticed...
by mrsilv04
07/24/16 02:42 PM
Brake Pad Anti Rattle Clips
by Miller88
07/24/16 02:02 PM
Video: Napa Proselect 21334 cut open
by cronk
07/24/16 01:12 PM
what viscosity on a new build? 351W/408 street
by tomcat27
07/24/16 12:14 PM
What is this plant?
by skyactiv
07/24/16 11:16 AM
Newest Members
Matt_P, tpragski, 182RG, BillHuang, jwilliamson185
58578 Registered Users
Who's Online
95 registered (901Memphis, 2165, A1O, AIRJAC3, alanwayne1908, 4WD, 7 invisible), 2025 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
58578 Members
66 Forums
252196 Topics
4135696 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#3237473 - 01/04/14 06:09 PM Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30
slingha Offline


Registered: 01/08/10
Posts: 25
Loc: NJ
Im about to change my oil in my Generac GP17500e with the 990 motor on it. This thing ran like a champ during Sandy going 14 days non-stop except for oil/plugs/filter changes. Had the valve clearances done per the manual albeit a bit late since I needed this running.

Anyhow, I was checking my notes and noticed I was due for an oil change. It;s got about 8 more hours on it since Sandy but the manual specs annual changes.

So here's my conundrum. I ran SAE 30 for the first 100 hours and I had some significant oil consumption to the tune of .5 qt a day(Valvoline sae30 dino). I transitioned to M1 10w-30 after the 100 hrs and she did not consume any measurable oil.

So now at 350 hours give or take, i'm concerned what to do. The performance of the m1 10w-30 was awesome but the temp range at the time fit the description from the manual. So when I refill the engine considering I want an all season oil, can I keep the 10w-30 or do I have to go back to sae30? Will the MI-10w-30 cause any issues? Some people have said they fill 5w-30 but I'm worried about shearing.

Top
#3237475 - 01/04/14 06:14 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
nitehawk55 Offline


Registered: 04/01/10
Posts: 1078
Loc: Ontario , Canada
The 10W30 and is actually better for hot and cold temps since it's a synthetic .
_________________________
05 Ford Five Hundred AWD 3.0 DOHC V6 CVT tranny

Top
#3237494 - 01/04/14 06:35 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
eljefino Online   content


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 29444
Loc: ME
M1 10w30 absolutely! You never know if you'll be laid up with a broken ankle or something and unable to check/ add oil.

For emergency type gear, don't frig around.

Top
#3237499 - 01/04/14 06:38 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
RF Overlord Offline


Registered: 11/08/03
Posts: 3572
Loc: Cape Cod, MA
M1 10W-30 FTW.

Personally I use RT5 10W-30, but M1 is excellent, too.
_________________________
Supercharged '03 Mercury Marauder - Trilogy Motorsports #61
PP 5W-30 / MC FL820S

Y2K Grand Marquis GS - daily driver
QSUD 5W-20 / MC FL820S

Top
#3237561 - 01/04/14 07:28 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
901Memphis Online   content


Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 10911
Loc: Northern Kentucky
The M1 10w30 is far superior to the Valvoline Sae 30 weight. Continue to use it!
_________________________
2002 Buick Century 125k - Built 4T65e(Maxlife) - Syn Frankenbrew + XG 3387A
1998 Nissan Altima 335k - 5MT - M1 HM 5w30/Fram Ultra XG7317+MOS+ATP 205

Top
#3237585 - 01/04/14 07:44 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
slingha Offline


Registered: 01/08/10
Posts: 25
Loc: NJ
Thanks for the confirmation. Will keep on keepin on with the 10w-30

Top
#3237638 - 01/04/14 08:29 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: RF Overlord]
Padawan Offline


Registered: 08/24/08
Posts: 222
Loc: NJ
Originally Posted By: RF Overlord
Personally I use RT5 10W-30, but M1 is excellent, too.


An HDEO would be my preference, too. I just changed the oil in our generator with Rotella T6 5W-40.

Top
#3237669 - 01/04/14 09:02 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
oldhp Offline


Registered: 06/28/12
Posts: 1197
Loc: Southern Illinois
Rings seating in causing oil use? Now seated=No oil usage.
+1 on M1 10W30.
_________________________
2016 Challenger R/T Hemi 6-speed.
2012 Equinox 2.4-Wife's Ride


Top
#3237695 - 01/04/14 09:28 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
slingha Offline


Registered: 01/08/10
Posts: 25
Loc: NJ
I would have thought rings too but 100 hrs? The change to 10w-30 stopped consumption immediately.

Top
#3237734 - 01/04/14 09:52 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
tig1 Offline


Registered: 01/03/09
Posts: 11434
Loc: Illinois
I use M1 10-30 in all my OPE with very good results. I also have a friend that is a Generac tech and he uses M1 5-30 in all his PMs. Has had no problems in the many gens he services.
_________________________
2007 Ford Fusion 184,000 miles
M1 0-20 AFE
2007 Ford Focus 156,000 miles
M1 0-20 AFE
10,000 mile OCIs on both engines
M1 ATF
M1 10-30 in all OPE
MC filters


Top
#3237801 - 01/04/14 10:45 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
901Memphis Online   content


Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 10911
Loc: Northern Kentucky
I think the only useful application for M1 10w30 (or any 10w30 synthetic for that matter) is OPE in place of sae 30 weight otherwise you could just jump straight for the 5w30 synthetic in PCMO.
_________________________
2002 Buick Century 125k - Built 4T65e(Maxlife) - Syn Frankenbrew + XG 3387A
1998 Nissan Altima 335k - 5MT - M1 HM 5w30/Fram Ultra XG7317+MOS+ATP 205

Top
#3242838 - 01/09/14 01:23 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
il_signore97 Offline


Registered: 09/05/06
Posts: 637
Loc: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I would stick to M1 10W30 (or also a good synthetic 5W30 if you ever encounter extreme cold temperatures).

I always use synthetic 10W30 or synthetic 5W30 in all my power equipment (snow blower has never had anything else other than Amsoil HDD synthetic 5W30, often changed every 2 or 3 years - still runs perfectly).

My Generac has 10W30 syn in it right now, but may switch to 5W30 syn given that I usually find myself using it during very cold weather.
_________________________
il_signore97
'09 Mercedes-Benz C300 Sport Calcite White 6-spd M/T

Top
#3243193 - 01/09/14 06:29 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
Michael_P Offline


Registered: 08/20/07
Posts: 1608
Loc: By the Lake
M1 10w-30 has much lower volatility than the other oils.

Top
#3347575 - 04/19/14 05:50 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
NormanBuntz Offline


Registered: 07/27/13
Posts: 1075
Loc: Coastal NC
My Generac is a different animal: propane powered 13K whole house unit that's 7 years old. In my early oil changes I used 5w-30 synthetic blend and had some oil consumption (about 2/3 qt every 20 hours operating time). Since the 3rd OC, I've used Napa 5w-30 full synthetic with much less consumption. My Generac manual calls for 5w-30 in my climate, and the unit test starts and runs for 12 minutes 52 weeks a year. Whatever viscosity you choose for your climate, I say to stick with full synthetic.
_________________________
It's dangerous, the things we do.
2015 Subaru Outback 2.5i
2007 Honda Ridgeline
2007 Infiniti M35
1987 Alfa Spider Veloce

Top
#3347912 - 04/20/14 02:56 AM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
Fraser434 Offline


Registered: 09/17/11
Posts: 141
Loc: Chicago
Recently serviced a Generac 20kW/18kW 999cc, used Mobil1 10W30 HM synthetic.HM has more SAPS.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >