Recent Topics
WRX or GTI?
by GumbyJarvis
02/12/16 02:50 AM
Single cylinder versus twin
by mjoekingz28
02/12/16 01:12 AM
Mobil Super Syn vs ...others
by Yup
02/12/16 12:45 AM
2016 WRX
by Silver02ex
02/11/16 11:58 PM
Class Action Lawsuit Against Oil Filter Company?
by crazyoildude
02/11/16 11:42 PM
PL10241 Cut Open
by Vegoose
02/11/16 11:15 PM
Seems like common sense to me......
by Doog
02/11/16 11:14 PM
Thinking of buying an old diesel Benz
by Diego3336
02/11/16 10:46 PM
Mobil 1 5W30 5279 Miles 06 Toyota Tacoma V6 401k
by qnyla
02/11/16 09:43 PM
2007 corolla oil pan steel or aluminum?
by Rolla07
02/11/16 09:07 PM
Taiwan DMV "Mechanical Knowledgee" Test Question
by Ducked
02/11/16 08:56 PM
Paint correction
by mjoekingz28
02/11/16 08:55 PM
Newest Members
engus, Rob_Pol, Nick24w, SkipKaye, MikeHancho
56899 Registered Users
Who's Online
29 registered (crinkles, dgunay, DSparks, c502cid, deoxy4, DaleAZ, 3 invisible), 427 Guests and 187 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
56899 Members
66 Forums
244581 Topics
3983476 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#3237473 - 01/04/14 06:09 PM Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30
slingha Offline


Registered: 01/08/10
Posts: 25
Loc: NJ
Im about to change my oil in my Generac GP17500e with the 990 motor on it. This thing ran like a champ during Sandy going 14 days non-stop except for oil/plugs/filter changes. Had the valve clearances done per the manual albeit a bit late since I needed this running.

Anyhow, I was checking my notes and noticed I was due for an oil change. It;s got about 8 more hours on it since Sandy but the manual specs annual changes.

So here's my conundrum. I ran SAE 30 for the first 100 hours and I had some significant oil consumption to the tune of .5 qt a day(Valvoline sae30 dino). I transitioned to M1 10w-30 after the 100 hrs and she did not consume any measurable oil.

So now at 350 hours give or take, i'm concerned what to do. The performance of the m1 10w-30 was awesome but the temp range at the time fit the description from the manual. So when I refill the engine considering I want an all season oil, can I keep the 10w-30 or do I have to go back to sae30? Will the MI-10w-30 cause any issues? Some people have said they fill 5w-30 but I'm worried about shearing.

Top
#3237475 - 01/04/14 06:14 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
nitehawk55 Offline


Registered: 04/01/10
Posts: 1078
Loc: Ontario , Canada
The 10W30 and is actually better for hot and cold temps since it's a synthetic .
_________________________
05 Ford Five Hundred AWD 3.0 DOHC V6 CVT tranny

Top
#3237494 - 01/04/14 06:35 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 28663
Loc: ME
M1 10w30 absolutely! You never know if you'll be laid up with a broken ankle or something and unable to check/ add oil.

For emergency type gear, don't frig around.

Top
#3237499 - 01/04/14 06:38 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
RF Overlord Offline


Registered: 11/08/03
Posts: 3481
Loc: Cape Cod, MA
M1 10W-30 FTW.

Personally I use RT5 10W-30, but M1 is excellent, too.
_________________________
Supercharged '03 Mercury Marauder - Trilogy Motorsports #61
PP 5W-30 / MC FL820S

Y2K Grand Marquis GS - daily driver
QSUD 5W-20 / MC FL820S

Top
#3237561 - 01/04/14 07:28 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
901Memphis Offline


Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 9811
Loc: Northern Kentucky
The M1 10w30 is far superior to the Valvoline Sae 30 weight. Continue to use it!
_________________________
2002 Buick Century 118k - Built 4T65e - M1 0w40 /Fram Ultra XG 3387A
1998 Nissan Altima 335k - 5MT - M1 HM 5w30/Fram Ultra XG7317

Top
#3237585 - 01/04/14 07:44 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
slingha Offline


Registered: 01/08/10
Posts: 25
Loc: NJ
Thanks for the confirmation. Will keep on keepin on with the 10w-30

Top
#3237638 - 01/04/14 08:29 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: RF Overlord]
Padawan Offline


Registered: 08/24/08
Posts: 169
Loc: NJ
Originally Posted By: RF Overlord
Personally I use RT5 10W-30, but M1 is excellent, too.


An HDEO would be my preference, too. I just changed the oil in our generator with Rotella T6 5W-40.

Top
#3237669 - 01/04/14 09:02 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
oldhp Offline


Registered: 06/28/12
Posts: 1135
Loc: Southern Illinois
Rings seating in causing oil use? Now seated=No oil usage.
+1 on M1 10W30.
_________________________
2014 RAM Express 3.6/8 speed work truck.
2012 Equinox 2.4-Wife's Ride


Top
#3237695 - 01/04/14 09:28 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
slingha Offline


Registered: 01/08/10
Posts: 25
Loc: NJ
I would have thought rings too but 100 hrs? The change to 10w-30 stopped consumption immediately.

Top
#3237734 - 01/04/14 09:52 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
tig1 Offline


Registered: 01/03/09
Posts: 10971
Loc: Illinois
I use M1 10-30 in all my OPE with very good results. I also have a friend that is a Generac tech and he uses M1 5-30 in all his PMs. Has had no problems in the many gens he services.
_________________________
2007 Ford Fusion 173,000 miles
M1 0-20 AFE
2007 Ford Focus 151,000 miles
M1 0-20 AFE
10,000 mile OCIs on both engines
M1 ATF
M1 10-30 in all OPE
MC filters


Top
#3237801 - 01/04/14 10:45 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
901Memphis Offline


Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 9811
Loc: Northern Kentucky
I think the only useful application for M1 10w30 (or any 10w30 synthetic for that matter) is OPE in place of sae 30 weight otherwise you could just jump straight for the 5w30 synthetic in PCMO.
_________________________
2002 Buick Century 118k - Built 4T65e - M1 0w40 /Fram Ultra XG 3387A
1998 Nissan Altima 335k - 5MT - M1 HM 5w30/Fram Ultra XG7317

Top
#3242838 - 01/09/14 01:23 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
il_signore97 Offline


Registered: 09/05/06
Posts: 632
Loc: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I would stick to M1 10W30 (or also a good synthetic 5W30 if you ever encounter extreme cold temperatures).

I always use synthetic 10W30 or synthetic 5W30 in all my power equipment (snow blower has never had anything else other than Amsoil HDD synthetic 5W30, often changed every 2 or 3 years - still runs perfectly).

My Generac has 10W30 syn in it right now, but may switch to 5W30 syn given that I usually find myself using it during very cold weather.
_________________________
il_signore97
'09 Mercedes-Benz C300 Sport Calcite White 6-spd M/T

Top
#3243193 - 01/09/14 06:29 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
Michael_P Offline


Registered: 08/20/07
Posts: 1447
Loc: Ohio
M1 10w-30 has much lower volatility than the other oils.

Top
#3347575 - 04/19/14 05:50 PM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
NormanBuntz Offline


Registered: 07/27/13
Posts: 883
Loc: Coastal NC
My Generac is a different animal: propane powered 13K whole house unit that's 7 years old. In my early oil changes I used 5w-30 synthetic blend and had some oil consumption (about 2/3 qt every 20 hours operating time). Since the 3rd OC, I've used Napa 5w-30 full synthetic with much less consumption. My Generac manual calls for 5w-30 in my climate, and the unit test starts and runs for 12 minutes 52 weeks a year. Whatever viscosity you choose for your climate, I say to stick with full synthetic.
_________________________
Badges? We ain't got no badges. We don't need no badges.
2015 Subaru Outback 2.5i
2007 Honda Ridgeline
2007 Infiniti M35
1987 Alfa Spider Veloce

Top
#3347912 - 04/20/14 02:56 AM Re: Generac Gp17500 consuming sae30 but not m1 10w-30 [Re: slingha]
Fraser434 Offline


Registered: 09/17/11
Posts: 132
Loc: Chicago
Recently serviced a Generac 20kW/18kW 999cc, used Mobil1 10W30 HM synthetic.HM has more SAPS.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >