Chevron Lubricants Q&A

click here to participate in the Chevron Lubricants Q&A

Recent Topics
15w40 Oil Choices For 2011 Ram 3500 6.7 Cummins
by turbowhistle
47 minutes 29 seconds ago
Any Penrite UOA's?
by B320i
Today at 03:43 AM
Garage used correct oil for my AMG?
by lanab
Today at 01:49 AM
What causes high oil pressure?
by dino33
Today at 12:04 AM
I'm becoming a double edged razor hoarder!
by The_Eric
Yesterday at 11:57 PM
Date Code Wanted For New Purolator Oil Filter..
by crazyoildude
Yesterday at 11:20 PM
Scraping noise after replacing rear hub assemblies
by JRed
Yesterday at 10:15 PM
Pressure Viscosity Coefficient and HTHS
by Shannow
Yesterday at 09:59 PM
Shell presentation on oil, economy, and future.
by Shannow
Yesterday at 09:34 PM
Replaced OEM filter with K&N for better efficiency
by DoubleWasp
Yesterday at 09:33 PM
Need help with PowerBook WiFi Setup
by Merkava_4
Yesterday at 09:31 PM
Any Reason To Change Brands?
by Finz
Yesterday at 09:03 PM
Newest Members
rutherford, kiernan, chas8754, apeevey, zeb
53725 Registered Users
Who's Online
42 registered (Chuckinator, Charlie1935, BobsArmory, AMC, Al, ag_ghost, 6 invisible), 798 Guests and 188 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
53725 Members
66 Forums
230335 Topics
3687014 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3234301 - 01/02/14 12:36 AM Re: Slightly overfilling Manual Transmission [Re: daemontrym]
Ross Offline


Registered: 09/10/02
Posts: 694
Loc: Bismarck, ND
This very same thing happened to me with my 2011 hyundai accent. The manual said 2 quarts. I kept adding and adding until I had almost 3 quarts in. Truned out I had removed the wrong bolt to drain the fluid. I was using a bolt much higher up. I found the the correct bolt removed it and let it drain. About 1 quart came out and all is well. I am using redline MT 85 and I like it thus far.
_________________________
land of fieros
88 fiero gt t-tops 3,000 original miles
09 saturn outlook
11 hyundai accent se
03&04 mitsubishi made chrysler sebrings
06 buick lucerne

Top
#3236596 - 01/03/14 10:07 PM Re: Slightly overfilling Manual Transmission [Re: daemontrym]
Unsullied_Spy Offline


Registered: 11/13/11
Posts: 12
Loc: Bozeman, MT, USA
Generally speaking the fill hole is located where the fluid level needs to be. Sometimes there is a TSB regarding fluid levels (check with your dealer's service department) but usually just fill until it starts dribbling out and then re-install the plug.

Again, check with your service department. My 2002 Mustang GT with a Tremec TR-3650 was spec'ed to fill up to the hole, then they said only to put 3 liters in it because of shifting problems.

Top
#3236633 - 01/03/14 10:46 PM Re: Slightly overfilling Manual Transmission [Re: daemontrym]
MolaKule Offline


Registered: 06/05/02
Posts: 15205
Loc: Iowegia - USA
Quote:
daemontrym: ...and 2/3 of a quart of Pennzoil Synchromesh 75w90


Where did you find a 75W90 Pennzoil Sychromesh?


Edited by MolaKule (01/03/14 10:48 PM)
_________________________
I went shopping at the SuperMarket on an empty stomach. I am now the proud owner of Isle #4. smile

Top
#3236914 - 01/04/14 09:25 AM Re: Slightly overfilling Manual Transmission [Re: MolaKule]
daemontrym Offline


Registered: 10/04/11
Posts: 56
Loc: Az
Molakule I didn't find synchromesh 75w90 its a typo..

I am going to look in Kia tech info online and make sure I have the right bolt. Kiatechinfo.com gives you access to the actual kia repair manual the dealerships use.

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2