Recent Topics
Bell Aire tire inflator
by faramir9
39 minutes 21 seconds ago
Stuck oil filler cap
by Dave Sherman
52 minutes 45 seconds ago
Illinois Napa Auto Parts $10 off
by KzMitch
55 minutes 33 seconds ago
Shoe quandary
by hotwheels
56 minutes 56 seconds ago
Various Chevron/Havoline Rebates
by sicko
Today at 09:31 PM
Oil Recommendation-2015 Honda Accord V6
by akv
Today at 08:37 PM
Quaker State Higher Mileage Oil
by MrQuackers
Today at 08:08 PM
2015 Outback owner's manual oil recommendations
by NormanBuntz
Today at 07:42 PM
Amsoil 10w30 MCT versus Mobil 1 AFE 0w30
by BusyLittleShop
Today at 06:44 PM
Firestone Destination LE2 Deal
by NHHEMI
Today at 06:41 PM
Distributor gear worn sharp
by 007
Today at 06:25 PM
Leak stop?
by 36yrsinTX
Today at 06:16 PM
Newest Members
akv, ozigoo, MIketitan, Zephyr20, gidlestick
53010 Registered Users
Who's Online
88 registered (abycat, 4Scott4, ABCarr, ARB1977, ag_ghost, 5 invisible), 1279 Guests and 257 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
53010 Members
66 Forums
227444 Topics
3628148 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#1858983 - 04/15/10 07:39 PM Industrial generator with 1 hour on it..
dirtymudder Offline


Registered: 10/28/02
Posts: 50
Loc: michigan
In the past year. The generator is inside of a heated building and has a block heater on it 24/7. I know it should have been run on load over the past year but that is past history. question is would you change the oil even though it has only one hour on it? By the way when it runs it supply's 480 volt to a 100hp motor.

Top
#1858993 - 04/15/10 07:50 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
Steve S Offline


Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 18449
Loc: East of IGO
A used oil analysis costs around $30.00 to have done and would tell how the oils condition. What does the manufacture recommend?
_________________________
Why do people post I want the best for my car,,, When there isn't anything that is the best on the car to begin with.

Top
#1859038 - 04/15/10 08:38 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: Steve S]
MolaKule Offline


Registered: 06/05/02
Posts: 15048
Loc: Iowegia
Is it using any oil and has it been run-in?

I assume it's a diesel with about a 100kW output?
_________________________
Since it was so cold, I'm spending a cozy evening at home, staring at a beautiful fire and wishing it wasn't inside my microwave. Oops! smile

Top
#1859084 - 04/15/10 09:30 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
bruce381 Offline


Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 3324
Loc: Millbrae, CA
Originally Posted By: dirtymudder
In the past year. The generator is inside of a heated building and has a block heater on it 24/7. I know it should have been run on load over the past year but that is past history. question is would you change the oil even though it has only one hour on it? By the way when it runs it supply's 480 volt to a 100hp motor.



no

Top
#1860482 - 04/17/10 12:20 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: bruce381]
D-Roc Offline


Registered: 11/23/05
Posts: 1525
Loc: CFB Petawawa, Ontario
Plugged in 24/7...I'd be more inclined to test the coolant.
_________________________
"Close your eyes
Look deep in your soul
Step outside yourself
And let your mind go"

Top
#1865021 - 04/20/10 06:24 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: D-Roc]
dirtymudder Offline


Registered: 10/28/02
Posts: 50
Loc: michigan
Generator has about 2200 hours on it.

Top
#1947404 - 07/09/10 05:56 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
NesloOne Offline


Registered: 07/06/10
Posts: 7
Loc: Denmark
I feel you do the test, although it will say the oil is still in good condition.
_________________________
dieselfuel, hydraulicoil, coalmine

Top
#3222658 - 12/20/13 12:34 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
JR Offline


Registered: 08/08/04
Posts: 932
Loc: Michigan born but my heart bel...
If it only has 1hr on the current fill a uoa will say keep in service. i wouldn't change or sample the oil. it has no use on it.
i would be more concerned about not running it time to time. if it were mine i would run it up to temp under load every 3 to 6 months.

ken

Top
#3223292 - 12/21/13 12:55 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
Fraser434 Offline


Registered: 09/17/11
Posts: 79
Loc: Chicago
Old Thread, i'm in power generation field service, I see this on a daily basis. Nothing wrong with taking fluid samples and inspecting the generator and transfer switch(s) for proper operation.

CAT put out the option to offer 3 year oil change cycle on CAT diesels C9 and larger in Standby Power application. Can do this by taking quarterly samples and annual filter replacement, still maintain CAT warranty or ESC.

I can tell you a very large telecom company mandates oil changes are to be performed every 3 years or per sample analysis on standby generators.

Still you have issues with engines sitting, injector cups leaking coolant, oil cooler leaking, head gasket or fuel dilution. Just changing the engine oil won't correct these issues and only mask them over for a short period.

Hope this helps.



Edited by Fraser434 (12/21/13 12:59 AM)

Top