Recent Topics
Calibration of Canon -fenske viscometers in -51 oC
by Yahya
42 minutes 3 seconds ago
New lower valance (garbage find)
by Realtech214
58 minutes 8 seconds ago
8/27-9/30 O'Reilly Sales Ad
by tenderloin
Today at 02:00 AM
monroe sensa trac vs rancho rs5000
by FLORIDA
Today at 01:44 AM
Opti-Coat has been discontinued for consumers
by The Critic
Today at 01:42 AM
8/26-9/22 AutoZone Sales Ad
by tenderloin
Today at 01:40 AM
Cardboard Box National Registry
by Merkava_4
Yesterday at 11:37 PM
Shell Helix Ultra
by MolaKule
Yesterday at 10:48 PM
2008 S40 T5
by The Critic
Yesterday at 10:42 PM
2007 Jetta Oil Recommendations?
by Tony_Mack
Yesterday at 10:05 PM
$15 off oil change
by CHARLIEBRONSON21
Yesterday at 09:27 PM
De-glazed my rotors.
by eljefino
Yesterday at 08:41 PM
Newest Members
rayzn1123, EricWalls, mikejanczak, 1972, HondaSpider
51111 Registered Users
Who's Online
25 registered (fordranger03, ac_tc, Apollo14, Fleetmon, DSparks, Dufus2, 3 invisible), 567 Guests and 218 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
51111 Members
64 Forums
218344 Topics
3442524 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3213115 - 12/11/13 07:19 AM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
apwillard1986 Offline


Registered: 07/29/10
Posts: 557
Loc: Deer Park, Texas
4GB is plenty, 8GB is a nice upgrade, and 16GB is “Ill plan to take this out and install it in my next new computer in a few years”.

If the computer is performing the tasks you require of it currently then an investment in upgrading is likely not worth it. I really want an SSD for my new gaming laptop. Spending a few hundred bucks to upgrade a new computer that easily handles everything I throw at it just so I don’t have to wait a few more seconds is not really worth investing a large percentage of the computers total value in a single upgrade. I would rather wait until the computer is a year or two old and upgrade it then. It gives the component(s) I want a chance to come down in price and it gives me a chance to squeeze a few more years of relevancy out of the unit.
_________________________
2011 Ext. Cab Silverado 4.3L V6 (His)
2013 Crew Cab Silverado 5.3L V8 (Hers)

Top
#3220780 - 12/18/13 02:58 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
DBMaster Offline


Registered: 09/18/12
Posts: 2064
Loc: Texas
I built a new system in February. It's an AMD A8 with 4GB RAM. For the money, it's speedy. But, the hard drive I bought on eBay apparently had some bad sectors. The thing would randomly reboot itself. I put up with it for months, but decided it was time to try a different drive. I splurged and bought a budget SSD (SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB). The Windows issues appear to be resolved and it really did speed up the machine noticeably. It improved my "Windows Experience" disk drive score from 5.9 to 7.1. This is a $110 SSD so it's not top of the line, but it is a well known brand.
_________________________

Mike

Top
#3220783 - 12/18/13 03:02 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 25897
Loc: Ontario, Canada
I just upgraded my work laptop a week or so ago (Lenovo T420 w/i5 CPU) to 16GB because I do a bit of virtualization on it with VMWare. It made a rather significant difference even just with Chrome and the million tabs I keep open.
_________________________
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5
05 Forester XT

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2