Recent Topics
Would you use this older synthetic oil in your car
by HawkeyeScott
10/08/15 08:14 PM
STP extended life filters
by kenpoed
10/08/15 07:57 PM
The 90-second oil change
by dblshock
10/08/15 07:28 PM
2015 Bathurst 1000
by bdcardinal
10/08/15 07:09 PM
Fully cutting the cord...
by madRiver
10/08/15 06:34 PM
75,000kms using 0W-30 --- Time to change to 5W-40?
by Isaac
10/08/15 06:22 PM
Honda A01 FILTECH at Advanced Auto Parts
by David1
10/08/15 05:11 PM
Small Engine - Dino Break In
by chefwong
10/08/15 04:57 PM
10/08/15 04:45 PM
Where to find PUP or Castrol Edge Extended??
by Polarisdude94
10/08/15 04:23 PM
Ford Focus ST Diesel Wagon!
by wemay
10/08/15 04:11 PM
Piston soak success story.
by Dyusik
10/08/15 03:51 PM
Newest Members
Borgmage, Chewie, ZTime33, Fat_boy, ntaphse
55628 Registered Users
Who's Online
113 registered (2015_PSD, 3800Series, 2165, 97tbird, AandPDan, 01_celica_gt, 13 invisible), 1488 Guests and 146 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
55628 Members
66 Forums
238730 Topics
3855277 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3213115 - 12/11/13 07:19 AM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
apwillard1986 Offline

Registered: 07/29/10
Posts: 566
Loc: Deer Park, Texas
4GB is plenty, 8GB is a nice upgrade, and 16GB is “Ill plan to take this out and install it in my next new computer in a few years”.

If the computer is performing the tasks you require of it currently then an investment in upgrading is likely not worth it. I really want an SSD for my new gaming laptop. Spending a few hundred bucks to upgrade a new computer that easily handles everything I throw at it just so I don’t have to wait a few more seconds is not really worth investing a large percentage of the computers total value in a single upgrade. I would rather wait until the computer is a year or two old and upgrade it then. It gives the component(s) I want a chance to come down in price and it gives me a chance to squeeze a few more years of relevancy out of the unit.
2011 Ext. Cab Silverado 4.3L V6 (His)
2013 Crew Cab Silverado 5.3L V8 (Hers)

#3220780 - 12/18/13 02:58 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
DBMaster Offline

Registered: 09/18/12
Posts: 3212
Loc: Greg Abbott Land
I built a new system in February. It's an AMD A8 with 4GB RAM. For the money, it's speedy. But, the hard drive I bought on eBay apparently had some bad sectors. The thing would randomly reboot itself. I put up with it for months, but decided it was time to try a different drive. I splurged and bought a budget SSD (SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB). The Windows issues appear to be resolved and it really did speed up the machine noticeably. It improved my "Windows Experience" disk drive score from 5.9 to 7.1. This is a $110 SSD so it's not top of the line, but it is a well known brand.

#3220783 - 12/18/13 03:02 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]

Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 30004
Loc: Ontario, Canada
I just upgraded my work laptop a week or so ago (Lenovo T420 w/i5 CPU) to 16GB because I do a bit of virtualization on it with VMWare. It made a rather significant difference even just with Chrome and the million tabs I keep open.
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
06 Charger R/T
14 Charger SRT-8

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2