Recent Topics
Impala 2008 recall
by Durango
04/20/14 10:50 AM
Issues with simple mp3/wma player.
by mrsilv04
04/20/14 09:26 AM
Finally installed Lifeliner GLS on the Focus
by Miller88
04/20/14 08:42 AM
My PYB expierence
by Georgiaboy2109
04/20/14 08:24 AM
Any GM L-76 (LS-X variant) V8 owners out there?
by SuperEd73
04/20/14 07:52 AM
THE BATHTUB TEST
by Charlie1935
04/20/14 07:15 AM
My First OC in my 2006 Volvo XC90
by Toros
04/20/14 07:05 AM
Lubegard in p/s pump
by Bob_E
04/20/14 05:56 AM
How do you say it?
by GreeCguy
04/20/14 04:24 AM
Oil recommendation
by TIUSER
04/20/14 04:18 AM
A Slew Of Choices
by Red91
04/20/14 01:48 AM
Two Shops, One Septic Tank
by Red91
04/20/14 12:20 AM
Newest Members
loneryder, MNbiker, Amercanzer0, BobCos, rdm101
49632 Registered Users
Who's Online
78 registered (147_Grain, AandPDan, beast3300, Bandito440, bigblumer, 77GrandPrix, 5 invisible), 1828 Guests and 160 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
49632 Members
64 Forums
212146 Topics
3325263 Posts

Max Online: 2605 @ 04/19/14 12:41 PM
Donate to BITOG

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3213115 - 12/11/13 07:19 AM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
apwillard1986 Offline


Registered: 07/29/10
Posts: 553
Loc: Deer Park, Texas
4GB is plenty, 8GB is a nice upgrade, and 16GB is “Ill plan to take this out and install it in my next new computer in a few years”.

If the computer is performing the tasks you require of it currently then an investment in upgrading is likely not worth it. I really want an SSD for my new gaming laptop. Spending a few hundred bucks to upgrade a new computer that easily handles everything I throw at it just so I don’t have to wait a few more seconds is not really worth investing a large percentage of the computers total value in a single upgrade. I would rather wait until the computer is a year or two old and upgrade it then. It gives the component(s) I want a chance to come down in price and it gives me a chance to squeeze a few more years of relevancy out of the unit.
_________________________
2011 Ext. Cab Silverado 4.3L V6 (His)
2013 Crew Cab Silverado 5.3L V8 (Hers)

Top
#3220780 - 12/18/13 02:58 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
DBMaster Online   content


Registered: 09/18/12
Posts: 1746
Loc: DFW, Texas
I built a new system in February. It's an AMD A8 with 4GB RAM. For the money, it's speedy. But, the hard drive I bought on eBay apparently had some bad sectors. The thing would randomly reboot itself. I put up with it for months, but decided it was time to try a different drive. I splurged and bought a budget SSD (SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB). The Windows issues appear to be resolved and it really did speed up the machine noticeably. It improved my "Windows Experience" disk drive score from 5.9 to 7.1. This is a $110 SSD so it's not top of the line, but it is a well known brand.
_________________________
_________________________________
Mike

No matter where you go.., there you are.

2012 Mazda3 i Touring
M1 AFE 0W-20, microGreen filter.

Top
#3220783 - 12/18/13 03:02 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
OVERKILL Online   content


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 24989
Loc: Ontario, Canada
I just upgraded my work laptop a week or so ago (Lenovo T420 w/i5 CPU) to 16GB because I do a bit of virtualization on it with VMWare. It made a rather significant difference even just with Chrome and the million tabs I keep open.
_________________________
Network Engineer
00 BMW 328i
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2