Recent Topics
Ordered New Composite Frame Hardtail 29er Today!
by john_pifer
06/30/15 11:35 PM
E15 coming soon?
by dlundblad
06/30/15 11:34 PM
Ceiling Fan Wiring
by Merkava_4
06/30/15 11:18 PM
Charging amps for phones, tablets etc
by Benito
06/30/15 11:07 PM
Or: How I learned to stop worrying...
by VR6
06/30/15 10:48 PM
NY and fireworks
by Bobcatguy
06/30/15 10:15 PM
Pep Boys 4th of July
by Mezmo
06/30/15 10:13 PM
1/4 inch Air Ratchet - I'm Sold
by sciphi
06/30/15 10:06 PM
VW transmission reliability
by gregk24
06/30/15 09:28 PM
Any friends or family work for Uber / Lyft ?
by Mr Nice
06/30/15 09:02 PM
Clone engine
by kyxtremetuber
06/30/15 08:57 PM
Date on your phone
by Benito
06/30/15 08:40 PM
Newest Members
georges77, LesterL, farquar13, UncleGuy, blaSSt
54538 Registered Users
Who's Online
54 registered (addyguy, BikeWhisperer, bdcardinal, bbhero, Blkstanger, 4 invisible), 1117 Guests and 90 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
54538 Members
66 Forums
233647 Topics
3752484 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3213115 - 12/11/13 07:19 AM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
apwillard1986 Offline


Registered: 07/29/10
Posts: 564
Loc: Deer Park, Texas
4GB is plenty, 8GB is a nice upgrade, and 16GB is “Ill plan to take this out and install it in my next new computer in a few years”.

If the computer is performing the tasks you require of it currently then an investment in upgrading is likely not worth it. I really want an SSD for my new gaming laptop. Spending a few hundred bucks to upgrade a new computer that easily handles everything I throw at it just so I don’t have to wait a few more seconds is not really worth investing a large percentage of the computers total value in a single upgrade. I would rather wait until the computer is a year or two old and upgrade it then. It gives the component(s) I want a chance to come down in price and it gives me a chance to squeeze a few more years of relevancy out of the unit.
_________________________
2011 Ext. Cab Silverado 4.3L V6 (His)
2013 Crew Cab Silverado 5.3L V8 (Hers)

Top
#3220780 - 12/18/13 02:58 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
DBMaster Offline


Registered: 09/18/12
Posts: 3044
Loc: Greg Abbott Land
I built a new system in February. It's an AMD A8 with 4GB RAM. For the money, it's speedy. But, the hard drive I bought on eBay apparently had some bad sectors. The thing would randomly reboot itself. I put up with it for months, but decided it was time to try a different drive. I splurged and bought a budget SSD (SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB). The Windows issues appear to be resolved and it really did speed up the machine noticeably. It improved my "Windows Experience" disk drive score from 5.9 to 7.1. This is a $110 SSD so it's not top of the line, but it is a well known brand.

Top
#3220783 - 12/18/13 03:02 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 28951
Loc: Ontario, Canada
I just upgraded my work laptop a week or so ago (Lenovo T420 w/i5 CPU) to 16GB because I do a bit of virtualization on it with VMWare. It made a rather significant difference even just with Chrome and the million tabs I keep open.
_________________________
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5
06 Charger R/T

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2