Recent Topics
What does E85 smell like ?
by Merkava_4
31 minutes 47 seconds ago
Thoughts on General Grabber AT2
by Camprunner
Today at 02:46 AM
Collinite 845 over Meguiars Cleaner Wax
by bobbob
Today at 12:57 AM
Micro Guard MGL 3682 (4k miles)
by stang5
Today at 12:40 AM
Echo Trimmer Carb rebuild, er upgrade
by Team_FAST
Yesterday at 11:02 PM
Dodge Hellcat acceleration times released
by 901Memphis
Yesterday at 10:42 PM
Questions about Castrol TWS / Edge Professional
by bimmerdriver
Yesterday at 09:38 PM
Pennzoil HM 5w20 in new car
by wemay
Yesterday at 09:27 PM
Recalls & more recalls. Cars are now too complex!
by antiqueshell
Yesterday at 09:23 PM
Honda MM logic vs. BITOG logic
by Pajamarama
Yesterday at 09:07 PM
Alignment done on my ranger
by Blkstanger
Yesterday at 08:47 PM
MMO suggestions!
by lawman1909
Yesterday at 08:38 PM
Newest Members
tjon, Jonlee89, Tripletsredxj, Brophy, Mamba
50749 Registered Users
Who's Online
10 registered (bluedak, DSparks, Mathson, Fleetmon, mattwithcats, 1 invisible), 807 Guests and 249 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
50749 Members
64 Forums
216755 Topics
3411659 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3213115 - 12/11/13 07:19 AM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
apwillard1986 Offline


Registered: 07/29/10
Posts: 557
Loc: Deer Park, Texas
4GB is plenty, 8GB is a nice upgrade, and 16GB is “Ill plan to take this out and install it in my next new computer in a few years”.

If the computer is performing the tasks you require of it currently then an investment in upgrading is likely not worth it. I really want an SSD for my new gaming laptop. Spending a few hundred bucks to upgrade a new computer that easily handles everything I throw at it just so I don’t have to wait a few more seconds is not really worth investing a large percentage of the computers total value in a single upgrade. I would rather wait until the computer is a year or two old and upgrade it then. It gives the component(s) I want a chance to come down in price and it gives me a chance to squeeze a few more years of relevancy out of the unit.
_________________________
2011 Ext. Cab Silverado 4.3L V6 (His)
2013 Crew Cab Silverado 5.3L V8 (Hers)

Top
#3220780 - 12/18/13 02:58 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
DBMaster Offline


Registered: 09/18/12
Posts: 1926
Loc: Texas
I built a new system in February. It's an AMD A8 with 4GB RAM. For the money, it's speedy. But, the hard drive I bought on eBay apparently had some bad sectors. The thing would randomly reboot itself. I put up with it for months, but decided it was time to try a different drive. I splurged and bought a budget SSD (SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB). The Windows issues appear to be resolved and it really did speed up the machine noticeably. It improved my "Windows Experience" disk drive score from 5.9 to 7.1. This is a $110 SSD so it's not top of the line, but it is a well known brand.
_________________________

Mike

Top
#3220783 - 12/18/13 03:02 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 25647
Loc: Ontario, Canada
I just upgraded my work laptop a week or so ago (Lenovo T420 w/i5 CPU) to 16GB because I do a bit of virtualization on it with VMWare. It made a rather significant difference even just with Chrome and the million tabs I keep open.
_________________________
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5
05 Forester XT

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2