Recent Topics
Cut Open - Toyota 90915 = yzzf2
by JC1
04/23/14 08:31 PM
Cut Open - Purolator Classic L20195
by JC1
04/23/14 08:29 PM
Cut Open - Purolator Pure One PL20195
by JC1
04/23/14 08:28 PM
Cut Open - Napa Gold 1516
by JC1
04/23/14 08:27 PM
Cut Open - Napa Gold 1334
by JC1
04/23/14 08:26 PM
Carbon Fibre Trim
by domer10
04/23/14 08:24 PM
Bosch D+ D3334 Cut Open
by Bookmaker
04/23/14 08:11 PM
2000 Chevy Astro Issues 2WD
by actionstan
04/23/14 08:07 PM
What ingredient makes it "Death"-Cool?
by Nayov
04/23/14 08:06 PM
Moving, BITOG style...
by 01rangerxl
04/23/14 07:51 PM
Bosch D+ D3410 Cut Open
by Bookmaker
04/23/14 07:39 PM
Good Alternative to Suzuki Super Grease "A"
by ABCarr
04/23/14 07:34 PM
Newest Members
BMWR1200GS, Npeters1205, shrekulo, Helpme, and111
49679 Registered Users
Who's Online
113 registered (b1amgm47, asand1, 72te27, 2010_FX4, 77GrandPrix, 13 invisible), 2118 Guests and 171 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
49679 Members
64 Forums
212341 Topics
3328625 Posts

Max Online: 2651 @ 04/21/14 04:38 PM
Donate to BITOG

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3213115 - 12/11/13 07:19 AM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
apwillard1986 Offline


Registered: 07/29/10
Posts: 553
Loc: Deer Park, Texas
4GB is plenty, 8GB is a nice upgrade, and 16GB is “Ill plan to take this out and install it in my next new computer in a few years”.

If the computer is performing the tasks you require of it currently then an investment in upgrading is likely not worth it. I really want an SSD for my new gaming laptop. Spending a few hundred bucks to upgrade a new computer that easily handles everything I throw at it just so I don’t have to wait a few more seconds is not really worth investing a large percentage of the computers total value in a single upgrade. I would rather wait until the computer is a year or two old and upgrade it then. It gives the component(s) I want a chance to come down in price and it gives me a chance to squeeze a few more years of relevancy out of the unit.
_________________________
2011 Ext. Cab Silverado 4.3L V6 (His)
2013 Crew Cab Silverado 5.3L V8 (Hers)

Top
#3220780 - 12/18/13 02:58 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
DBMaster Offline


Registered: 09/18/12
Posts: 1755
Loc: Texas
I built a new system in February. It's an AMD A8 with 4GB RAM. For the money, it's speedy. But, the hard drive I bought on eBay apparently had some bad sectors. The thing would randomly reboot itself. I put up with it for months, but decided it was time to try a different drive. I splurged and bought a budget SSD (SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB). The Windows issues appear to be resolved and it really did speed up the machine noticeably. It improved my "Windows Experience" disk drive score from 5.9 to 7.1. This is a $110 SSD so it's not top of the line, but it is a well known brand.

Top
#3220783 - 12/18/13 03:02 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 25010
Loc: Ontario, Canada
I just upgraded my work laptop a week or so ago (Lenovo T420 w/i5 CPU) to 16GB because I do a bit of virtualization on it with VMWare. It made a rather significant difference even just with Chrome and the million tabs I keep open.
_________________________
Network Engineer
00 BMW 328i
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2