Recent Topics
Are twenty cylinders enough?
by joel96
03/04/15 08:05 PM
Should you tell a customer what's wrong or just ho
by motor_oil_madman
03/04/15 07:45 PM
help on choosing an air compressor
by ram_man
03/04/15 07:12 PM
LED Bulb Question...
by Warstud
03/04/15 07:11 PM
Just saw the funniest thing on the freeway...
by slowdime
03/04/15 07:03 PM
Castrol Edge Extended Performance 5W30
by timeau
03/04/15 06:38 PM
Creatine Monohydrate.
by 3for3
03/04/15 06:24 PM
Drop and fill gone wrong.
by 3800Series
03/04/15 04:42 PM
Toyota dealer abandoned 40 years ago in Cyprus
by 01rangerxl
03/04/15 04:21 PM
finding good fitting furnace filters.
by JustinH
03/04/15 04:15 PM
Came down with frozen shoulder
by hotwheels
03/04/15 04:09 PM
Boston snowfall record is about 2 inches away
by Mystic
03/04/15 03:53 PM
Newest Members
tmfrahm, theblueox, 03Pathfinder, tigerh1752, cuttysark
53036 Registered Users
Who's Online
131 registered (1kickbuttranger, 2cool, 2010_FX4, 88m53453, 01rangerxl, 13 invisible), 1647 Guests and 220 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
53036 Members
66 Forums
227545 Topics
3630107 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3213115 - 12/11/13 07:19 AM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
apwillard1986 Offline


Registered: 07/29/10
Posts: 564
Loc: Deer Park, Texas
4GB is plenty, 8GB is a nice upgrade, and 16GB is “Ill plan to take this out and install it in my next new computer in a few years”.

If the computer is performing the tasks you require of it currently then an investment in upgrading is likely not worth it. I really want an SSD for my new gaming laptop. Spending a few hundred bucks to upgrade a new computer that easily handles everything I throw at it just so I don’t have to wait a few more seconds is not really worth investing a large percentage of the computers total value in a single upgrade. I would rather wait until the computer is a year or two old and upgrade it then. It gives the component(s) I want a chance to come down in price and it gives me a chance to squeeze a few more years of relevancy out of the unit.
_________________________
2011 Ext. Cab Silverado 4.3L V6 (His)
2013 Crew Cab Silverado 5.3L V8 (Hers)

Top
#3220780 - 12/18/13 02:58 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
DBMaster Offline


Registered: 09/18/12
Posts: 2753
Loc: Greg Abbott Land
I built a new system in February. It's an AMD A8 with 4GB RAM. For the money, it's speedy. But, the hard drive I bought on eBay apparently had some bad sectors. The thing would randomly reboot itself. I put up with it for months, but decided it was time to try a different drive. I splurged and bought a budget SSD (SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB). The Windows issues appear to be resolved and it really did speed up the machine noticeably. It improved my "Windows Experience" disk drive score from 5.9 to 7.1. This is a $110 SSD so it's not top of the line, but it is a well known brand.

Top
#3220783 - 12/18/13 03:02 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
OVERKILL Online   content


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 27871
Loc: Ontario, Canada
I just upgraded my work laptop a week or so ago (Lenovo T420 w/i5 CPU) to 16GB because I do a bit of virtualization on it with VMWare. It made a rather significant difference even just with Chrome and the million tabs I keep open.
_________________________
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5
06 Charger R/T

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2