Recent Topics
Royal Purple Max Atomizer
by jk_636
02/01/15 03:51 PM
91 Park Avenue starts then shuts off...
by gregk24
02/01/15 03:38 PM
P0304 CYLINDER 4 MISFIRE IN THE EXPEDITION
by MalfunctionProne
02/01/15 03:31 PM
Castrol Edge Professional
by mjbi
02/01/15 02:55 PM
stationary air compressor.
by spasm3
02/01/15 01:57 PM
The Big Q about Power Steering Noise.
by Cristobal
02/01/15 01:36 PM
eBay fuel injectors?
by daman
02/01/15 01:21 PM
MAXLIFE ATF MSDS
by friendly_jacek
02/01/15 01:03 PM
Superbowl...Who's picking who?
by gman2304
02/01/15 12:56 PM
Safe to use valvoline 5w40 mst in 2013 passat tdi?
by maintenanceMan
02/01/15 12:50 PM
Mobil 1 HM or Mobil Super HM
by MuzzleFlash40
02/01/15 12:45 PM
Shell or Castrol... what's in the BMW bottle now?
by SilverC6
02/01/15 12:37 PM
Newest Members
mjbi, ckeough, Dmstrbav, dieseloil, macka
52695 Registered Users
Who's Online
109 registered (57ChevyLS, ammolab, Al, AandPDan, 901Memphis, 2009Edge, 14 invisible), 1596 Guests and 238 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
52695 Members
66 Forums
225891 Topics
3595212 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3213115 - 12/11/13 07:19 AM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
apwillard1986 Offline


Registered: 07/29/10
Posts: 564
Loc: Deer Park, Texas
4GB is plenty, 8GB is a nice upgrade, and 16GB is “Ill plan to take this out and install it in my next new computer in a few years”.

If the computer is performing the tasks you require of it currently then an investment in upgrading is likely not worth it. I really want an SSD for my new gaming laptop. Spending a few hundred bucks to upgrade a new computer that easily handles everything I throw at it just so I don’t have to wait a few more seconds is not really worth investing a large percentage of the computers total value in a single upgrade. I would rather wait until the computer is a year or two old and upgrade it then. It gives the component(s) I want a chance to come down in price and it gives me a chance to squeeze a few more years of relevancy out of the unit.
_________________________
2011 Ext. Cab Silverado 4.3L V6 (His)
2013 Crew Cab Silverado 5.3L V8 (Hers)

Top
#3220780 - 12/18/13 02:58 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
DBMaster Offline


Registered: 09/18/12
Posts: 2652
Loc: Greg Abbott Land
I built a new system in February. It's an AMD A8 with 4GB RAM. For the money, it's speedy. But, the hard drive I bought on eBay apparently had some bad sectors. The thing would randomly reboot itself. I put up with it for months, but decided it was time to try a different drive. I splurged and bought a budget SSD (SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB). The Windows issues appear to be resolved and it really did speed up the machine noticeably. It improved my "Windows Experience" disk drive score from 5.9 to 7.1. This is a $110 SSD so it's not top of the line, but it is a well known brand.

Top
#3220783 - 12/18/13 03:02 PM Re: Upgrade RAM on the new computer? [Re: Shaman]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 27427
Loc: Ontario, Canada
I just upgraded my work laptop a week or so ago (Lenovo T420 w/i5 CPU) to 16GB because I do a bit of virtualization on it with VMWare. It made a rather significant difference even just with Chrome and the million tabs I keep open.
_________________________
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5
06 Charger R/T

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2