New Dodge Ram Stinks- known issue but no fix

Status
Not open for further replies.
All 2013 and 2014 Dodge Rams have the new OAT coolant. There is an issue where the coolant reacts with the hoses creating an odor that will make you run from the truck, quite literally on occasion. It is a "known" issue, but no fix is ready yet. Dodge is having new hoses made, and the trucks will need drained, power flushed, new hoses and refilled. I have been driving the stink bomb for 2 months now, started on day 2 of ownership.

Not all trucks get the smell, but when you do, it is obvious, 50 feet away.

It is branded as Dodge, and I think purple in color. I bet the same stuff.
Horrid smell, sulfur and decaying flesh-like sort of.

Horrid...sulfer smell...decaying flesh...sounds like Dodge to me.

I'd rather accept an unwashed artificial heart hacked from the chest of an Al Quida operative with a different blood type than me than own a Dodge truck. Kira

At least it's a simple fix! Dodge builds a good truck everyone has flaws. At least it's not a major engine or power train issue!

Dodge builds a tough truck, name a truck manufacturer that hasn't had an issue occasionally….My 6.0 Ford never smelled but it sure did "stink" as far as trucks go!

Originally Posted By: Kira

I'd rather accept an unwashed artificial heart hacked from the chest of an Al Quida operative with a different blood type than me than own a Dodge truck. Kira
Try towing a 8-10,000 (or more) pound trailer with your vehicle of choice, then try it with a Cummins (or even Hemi) powered Ram-you'll learn to LOVE the smell.

Oh come on, don't hold back. Tell us how you really feel...
28.gif

The first year Chevrolet Equinox had the same problem. GM was quick to fix the problem with new hoses and a coolant flush.

Originally Posted By: The_Eric

Oh come on, don't hold back. Tell us how you really feel...
28.gif

LOL