Recent Topics
Do I need a better tire for PNW trip?
by The_Eric
Yesterday at 11:51 PM
Turtle Beach PC headset hack
by asand1
Yesterday at 11:34 PM
Lengthy question for the seasoned oil gurus
by Jetstreamz06
Yesterday at 11:10 PM
Jeep Cherokee Heater Valve - Brands?
by Nick1994
Yesterday at 11:00 PM
Hyundai Entourage/Kia Sedona minivans
by Number_35
Yesterday at 10:41 PM
Oil in air breather tubing
by Nissan101
Yesterday at 10:06 PM
Dust caps needed to protect wheel bearings?
by Drew99GT
Yesterday at 09:51 PM
2014 Mazda CX5 SkyActiv
by Matt_V
Yesterday at 09:38 PM
getting rid of pwc with intermittent problem?
by motor_oil_madman
Yesterday at 08:36 PM
Difference between silicone caulking ?
by Merkava_4
Yesterday at 06:15 PM
The Top Dexos2 Oil Available in the USA is What?
by Best F100
Yesterday at 05:24 PM
Virgin Puro L14006 [Cut open]
by Run
Yesterday at 05:13 PM
Newest Members
kevinstoyhauler, jimx1169, W9HDG, LloydChristmass, dodge96
58019 Registered Users
Who's Online
25 registered (AdRock, dohnuts, AlEinstein, Bill_G, 01_celica_gt, 2 invisible), 641 Guests and 318 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
58019 Members
66 Forums
249581 Topics
4085954 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#3174140 - 10/31/13 04:45 PM My Mazda 3 got a first CEL
KrisZ Offline


Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 5603
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Yup, it finally happened after 7.5 years and 110k miles. About two weeks ago my wife informed me that the CEL light came on. I disconnected the battery and the cel went away for over a week. Few days ago the cel came back and I knew that it must be coming on for a reason.
As my luck would have it, CT has a 50% off sale for their OBD2 scanner, so I got it for a $100 which is not bad considering it has few extra features such as data logging and ABS codes.
Anyway, the code is P1026 and it's insufficient coolant temp. which means I need a new thermostat. The car warms up as usual and the temp. needle always reaches the usual centre position. So there are no other indication of the thermostat being stuck open.

This brings me to another point. And it is about some members mantra of changing thermostats when certain mileage is reached. Well, in any modern car it is totally not needed because the car will detect longer warm up times far sooner that the driver looking at the dummy gauges. This pretty much removes all guess work and unneeded part changes. Neat if you ask me.


Edited by KrisZ (10/31/13 04:46 PM)
_________________________
2015 Dodge//Grand Caravan-FF dumped
2006 Mazda 3-135k miles

Top
#3174149 - 10/31/13 04:51 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
Ndx Offline


Registered: 04/04/08
Posts: 1758
Loc: IL
Kris, If you will need some deeper diagnostics please let me know ...
I have hardware that does it on dealer level.

I'm in TO from time to time....

Good luck!


Edited by Ndx (10/31/13 04:53 PM)

Top
#3174204 - 10/31/13 06:01 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
Char Baby Offline


Registered: 05/25/05
Posts: 8609
Loc: Western NY
I just PM'd you, as I just did a T-Stat in our daughters '06 mazda3.You may remember!


Edited by Char Baby (10/31/13 06:03 PM)
_________________________
"Retired"
'80 Firebird FORMULA V8/4bbl-NEW
'06 Mazda 3i 2.0L-Pre Owned
'15 Nissan Altima 2.5 SV-CPO
Still looking for a car for my wife(new, used, CPO)

Top
#3174231 - 10/31/13 06:22 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
Donald Offline


Registered: 03/21/04
Posts: 16786
Loc: Upstate NY
Originally Posted By: KrisZ
Yup, it finally happened after 7.5 years and 110k miles. About two weeks ago my wife informed me that the CEL light came on. I disconnected the battery and the cel went away for over a week. Few days ago the cel came back and I knew that it must be coming on for a reason.
As my luck would have it, CT has a 50% off sale for their OBD2 scanner, so I got it for a $100 which is not bad considering it has few extra features such as data logging and ABS codes.
Anyway, the code is P1026 and it's insufficient coolant temp. which means I need a new thermostat. The car warms up as usual and the temp. needle always reaches the usual centre position. So there are no other indication of the thermostat being stuck open.

This brings me to another point. And it is about some members mantra of changing thermostats when certain mileage is reached. Well, in any modern car it is totally not needed because the car will detect longer warm up times far sooner that the driver looking at the dummy gauges. This pretty much removes all guess work and unneeded part changes. Neat if you ask me.


There may be more than one temp sensor. I would verify that before changing the thermostat.

And some people consider a thermostat a maint. item and replace every 3-5 years. Its important for the engine to run at the designed temp. Rather than replace it only if it overheats or you get no heat in winter.
_________________________
2015 Subaru Forester 2.5 engine/CVT
2015 Ford F250 w/Powerstroke
2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0- 4-sale
1999 Dodge Ram 2500 w/Cummins- 4-sale


Top
#3174242 - 10/31/13 06:34 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
DBMaster Offline


Registered: 09/18/12
Posts: 3742
Loc: Greg Abbott Land
I used to replace the t-stat at every timing belt change on the old Accord (90-100K miles). Not a bad scheduled maintenance item, actually.

Top
#3174327 - 10/31/13 07:31 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
bdcardinal Offline


Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 8716
Loc: Santa Barbara, CA
There might be another sensor, but 99.99% of the time it is the t-stat. The factory one comes with the housing, sensor and gasket all as one piece ready to put in. I sell a ton of these.
_________________________
2014 Ford Mustang GT Track Pack
1995 Ford Mustang GT

Ford/Mazda Parts Counter
NRA Benefactor Member
Opinions expressed are my own.

Top
#3174599 - 11/01/13 12:38 AM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: bdcardinal]
ComfyShorts Offline


Registered: 04/26/10
Posts: 178
Loc: California
I've put a TON of thermostats into Mazda 3's to correct the same code. It seems like every other check engine light on a Mazda 3 that rolls into my bay is the P1026. Order from dealer and you'll get entire assembly, 30 minute job. Good idea to replace your serpentine belt and tensioner if needed, as both are coming off.

Top
#3174604 - 11/01/13 12:45 AM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
asiancivicmaniac Offline


Registered: 01/12/05
Posts: 4121
Loc: FL
They're a common thing on 3rd gen Miatas too.

Top
#3174694 - 11/01/13 06:30 AM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: ComfyShorts]
KrisZ Offline


Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 5603
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Originally Posted By: ComfyShorts
I've put a TON of thermostats into Mazda 3's to correct the same code. It seems like every other check engine light on a Mazda 3 that rolls into my bay is the P1026. Order from dealer and you'll get entire assembly, 30 minute job. Good idea to replace your serpentine belt and tensioner if needed, as both are coming off.


The serp. belt was changed last summer, however I think the tensioner has to be changed because it shifts slightly to the left under tension and it's not perfectly aligned, therefore I get a slight belt squeak when cold.
I think I'm going to leave this job for early spring and change the thermostat housing, the tensioner and drain and fill the coolant while I'm at it.

Also, I read somwhere on Mazda forums that the thermostat and the housing were revised several times over the past few year. Do you know if the new thermostat holds up longer? Did you have to change the revised one yet?
_________________________
2015 Dodge//Grand Caravan-FF dumped
2006 Mazda 3-135k miles

Top
#3174859 - 11/01/13 09:39 AM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
Vikas Offline


Registered: 07/22/05
Posts: 10306
Loc: NorthEast
You have the scanner with the data logging. So you look at the live data to actually find the coolant temperature before deciding to buy a new thermostat.


Edited by Vikas (11/01/13 09:39 AM)

Top
#3175033 - 11/01/13 12:58 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
ComfyShorts Offline


Registered: 04/26/10
Posts: 178
Loc: California
Originally Posted By: KrisZ

Also, I read somwhere on Mazda forums that the thermostat and the housing were revised several times over the past few year. Do you know if the new thermostat holds up longer? Did you have to change the revised one yet?


I haven't had to replace a revised thermostat yet.

Top
#3195852 - 11/23/13 04:15 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
KrisZ Offline


Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 5603
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Update:

I changed the thermostat this morning. Nothing really to report other than the job is not difficult, but a bit time consuming because of the location of the thermostat.
The new thermostat does look a bit different and better made, so let's hope it's the last one I change.

Here is the old one.


And the new one.

_________________________
2015 Dodge//Grand Caravan-FF dumped
2006 Mazda 3-135k miles

Top