Recent Topics
67 Karmann Ghia + Viper V10 engine
by Pajamarama
09/02/14 04:21 PM
Absolutely disgusting piece of "journalism"
by OVERKILL
09/02/14 04:17 PM
Glad I had police come to minor accident
by raaizin
09/02/14 04:07 PM
8/31-11/29 CARQUEST AD
by tenderloin
09/02/14 04:02 PM
USA attacked in internet war
by friendly_jacek
09/02/14 03:58 PM
SDS+ to Max adapter
by JHZR2
09/02/14 03:46 PM
Ace Hardware - PYB quart bottles $2.99 after MIR
by babbittd
09/02/14 03:33 PM
Lucas Injector Cleaner in My Small Engines
by Boomer
09/02/14 03:32 PM
Blowing money on a commerical 21" - Honda vs Kawi
by Ope_Freak
09/02/14 02:47 PM
3.6 Pentastar OCI's
by webfors
09/02/14 02:23 PM
Spiral dynamics of the solar system
by jrustles
09/02/14 01:36 PM
Imminent Terrorist Attack Warning
by friendly_jacek
09/02/14 01:36 PM
Newest Members
dobbs101, Fleeter7, AK45, GabrielPrice, TheGuyGRM
51179 Registered Users
Who's Online
92 registered (97f150, ABomb369, 2oldtommy, 901Memphis, 123Saab, 2010_Colorado_V8, 7 invisible), 1911 Guests and 218 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
51179 Members
64 Forums
218692 Topics
3448458 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG

Topic Options
#3174140 - 10/31/13 04:45 PM My Mazda 3 got a first CEL
KrisZ Offline


Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 4253
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Yup, it finally happened after 7.5 years and 110k miles. About two weeks ago my wife informed me that the CEL light came on. I disconnected the battery and the cel went away for over a week. Few days ago the cel came back and I knew that it must be coming on for a reason.
As my luck would have it, CT has a 50% off sale for their OBD2 scanner, so I got it for a $100 which is not bad considering it has few extra features such as data logging and ABS codes.
Anyway, the code is P1026 and it's insufficient coolant temp. which means I need a new thermostat. The car warms up as usual and the temp. needle always reaches the usual centre position. So there are no other indication of the thermostat being stuck open.

This brings me to another point. And it is about some members mantra of changing thermostats when certain mileage is reached. Well, in any modern car it is totally not needed because the car will detect longer warm up times far sooner that the driver looking at the dummy gauges. This pretty much removes all guess work and unneeded part changes. Neat if you ask me.


Edited by KrisZ (10/31/13 04:46 PM)
_________________________
2006 Mazda3 2.0 - 190,000 Km
2003 Ford Focus ZX5 2.0 Zetec - 160,000Km
Both on good old dino juice smile

Top
#3174149 - 10/31/13 04:51 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
Ndx Offline


Registered: 04/04/08
Posts: 1632
Loc: IL
Kris, If you will need some deeper diagnostics please let me know ...
I have hardware that does it on dealer level.

I'm in TO from time to time....

Good luck!


Edited by Ndx (10/31/13 04:53 PM)

Top
#3174204 - 10/31/13 06:01 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
Char Baby Online   content


Registered: 05/25/05
Posts: 6976
Loc: Rochester NY
I just PM'd you, as I just did a T-Stat in our daughters '06 mazda3.You may remember!


Edited by Char Baby (10/31/13 06:03 PM)
_________________________
"Finally Retired"!

1980 Firebird FORMULA V8
2001 Lexus RX-300 V6
2004 Nissan Altima 2.5S
2006 Mazda 3i 2.0L

Top
#3174231 - 10/31/13 06:22 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
Donald Offline


Registered: 03/21/04
Posts: 13347
Loc: Upstate NY
Originally Posted By: KrisZ
Yup, it finally happened after 7.5 years and 110k miles. About two weeks ago my wife informed me that the CEL light came on. I disconnected the battery and the cel went away for over a week. Few days ago the cel came back and I knew that it must be coming on for a reason.
As my luck would have it, CT has a 50% off sale for their OBD2 scanner, so I got it for a $100 which is not bad considering it has few extra features such as data logging and ABS codes.
Anyway, the code is P1026 and it's insufficient coolant temp. which means I need a new thermostat. The car warms up as usual and the temp. needle always reaches the usual centre position. So there are no other indication of the thermostat being stuck open.

This brings me to another point. And it is about some members mantra of changing thermostats when certain mileage is reached. Well, in any modern car it is totally not needed because the car will detect longer warm up times far sooner that the driver looking at the dummy gauges. This pretty much removes all guess work and unneeded part changes. Neat if you ask me.


There may be more than one temp sensor. I would verify that before changing the thermostat.

And some people consider a thermostat a maint. item and replace every 3-5 years. Its important for the engine to run at the designed temp. Rather than replace it only if it overheats or you get no heat in winter.
_________________________
2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 - PP & M1
1999 Dodge Ram 2500 w/Cummins - Rotella T6 & M1
Amsoil ATF in both vehicles & Magnefine filter.

Top
#3174242 - 10/31/13 06:34 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
DBMaster Offline


Registered: 09/18/12
Posts: 2079
Loc: Texas
I used to replace the t-stat at every timing belt change on the old Accord (90-100K miles). Not a bad scheduled maintenance item, actually.
_________________________

Mike

Top
#3174327 - 10/31/13 07:31 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
bdcardinal Offline


Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 6431
Loc: Santa Barbara, CA
There might be another sensor, but 99.99% of the time it is the t-stat. The factory one comes with the housing, sensor and gasket all as one piece ready to put in. I sell a ton of these.
_________________________
2014 Ford Mustang GT Track Pack
1995 Ford Mustang GT

Ford/Mazda Parts Counter

NRA Endowment Member

"Fear disturbs your concentration."
-Sabine Schmitz

Top
#3174599 - 11/01/13 12:38 AM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: bdcardinal]
ComfyShorts Offline


Registered: 04/26/10
Posts: 178
Loc: California
I've put a TON of thermostats into Mazda 3's to correct the same code. It seems like every other check engine light on a Mazda 3 that rolls into my bay is the P1026. Order from dealer and you'll get entire assembly, 30 minute job. Good idea to replace your serpentine belt and tensioner if needed, as both are coming off.

Top
#3174604 - 11/01/13 12:45 AM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
asiancivicmaniac Offline


Registered: 01/12/05
Posts: 4036
Loc: FL
They're a common thing on 3rd gen Miatas too.

Top
#3174694 - 11/01/13 06:30 AM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: ComfyShorts]
KrisZ Offline


Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 4253
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Originally Posted By: ComfyShorts
I've put a TON of thermostats into Mazda 3's to correct the same code. It seems like every other check engine light on a Mazda 3 that rolls into my bay is the P1026. Order from dealer and you'll get entire assembly, 30 minute job. Good idea to replace your serpentine belt and tensioner if needed, as both are coming off.


The serp. belt was changed last summer, however I think the tensioner has to be changed because it shifts slightly to the left under tension and it's not perfectly aligned, therefore I get a slight belt squeak when cold.
I think I'm going to leave this job for early spring and change the thermostat housing, the tensioner and drain and fill the coolant while I'm at it.

Also, I read somwhere on Mazda forums that the thermostat and the housing were revised several times over the past few year. Do you know if the new thermostat holds up longer? Did you have to change the revised one yet?
_________________________
2006 Mazda3 2.0 - 190,000 Km
2003 Ford Focus ZX5 2.0 Zetec - 160,000Km
Both on good old dino juice smile

Top
#3174859 - 11/01/13 09:39 AM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
Vikas Offline


Registered: 07/22/05
Posts: 8051
Loc: NorthEast
You have the scanner with the data logging. So you look at the live data to actually find the coolant temperature before deciding to buy a new thermostat.


Edited by Vikas (11/01/13 09:39 AM)

Top
#3175033 - 11/01/13 12:58 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
ComfyShorts Offline


Registered: 04/26/10
Posts: 178
Loc: California
Originally Posted By: KrisZ

Also, I read somwhere on Mazda forums that the thermostat and the housing were revised several times over the past few year. Do you know if the new thermostat holds up longer? Did you have to change the revised one yet?


I haven't had to replace a revised thermostat yet.

Top
#3195852 - 11/23/13 04:15 PM Re: My Mazda 3 got a first CEL [Re: KrisZ]
KrisZ Offline


Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 4253
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Update:

I changed the thermostat this morning. Nothing really to report other than the job is not difficult, but a bit time consuming because of the location of the thermostat.
The new thermostat does look a bit different and better made, so let's hope it's the last one I change.

Here is the old one.


And the new one.

_________________________
2006 Mazda3 2.0 - 190,000 Km
2003 Ford Focus ZX5 2.0 Zetec - 160,000Km
Both on good old dino juice smile

Top