info an opinions on a Suzuki gn400

Status
Not open for further replies.
A guy I work with has a 85 gn400 runs good he wants 1100 for it. Whats a fair price? What should I expect out of this bike? Im a beginner. All advice is great. Thanks everyone.

Last edited:
Remember that finding parts for this bike will be near impossible,so its going to run until it doesn't then its scrap.
1100 is way too much.

I am planning on taking the course. I couldnt find gn400 on fhe list.

NADA nor Kelley Blue Book has a GN400 listed after 82. Is it possible that it is the more common GS450? Parts for the GN400 will indeed be very tricky to find and these older Suzuki's were utter death on stators and rectifiers. I think for 1100 bucks you can look around on Craigslist and find something a little better and more common. Something like a Yamaha XS650 or a Suzuki Savage 650 would be a better find.

Last edited:
I like the savage. What about a an 05 honda rebel? Not sure but arent they usually a 250? How is a 250 to ride?

I bought an '84 GSX-400 for $250.00 from the guy down the road from my parents when I was in high school (so like 1996). It needed a few things, but the local Suzuki dealer had no problem getting parts for it. I've even had good luck (far more recently) getting parts for my similar vintage Suzuki quad from the dealer, as well as my Yamaha trike that I recently parted ways with. It would appear in general that getting parts for Japanese bikes/ATV's is pretty easy and straight-forward, so I wouldn't be concerned about that.

Depending on what you are looking to do with the bike, you might be better served with something like a Honda Shadow. Your buddy wants way too much money for that bike BTW.

Originally Posted By: ram_man
I like the savage. What about a an 05 honda rebel? Not sure but arent they usually a 250? How is a 250 to ride?