Gun oil?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm gonna open a can of worms here, but I have to, to protect the innocent.

DON'T use Rem-Oil! Rem oil is only good as a solvent for cleaning. I don't care what Remington says. I used to use Rem-Oil. I lubed the SIG 9mm (I keep loaded and at the ready for home defense) with Rem-Oil. I stored it at controlled room temperature in my TV stand for a year-and-a half. My buddies went shooting one day and I grabbed it and said to myself "It must have been over a year since I lubed this gun. I'll shoot it as-is to test the integrity of that Rem-Oil I've been using..."
And would you know the pistol JAMMED several times when I started shooting it! I stopped right there, unloaded it, and put it away until I could carefully inspect it at home. I took it apart and the gun was as a dry as a popcorn [censored]. ALL of the Rem-Oil had EVAPORATED! Now I don't leave my guns dripping with oil when I clean them, but this was unacceptable. It had a thin, but adequate film when I put it in the TV stand. I've never had ANY of the other oils I've used do this. Rem-Oil could get you killed if you lube a personal defense pistol with it.
Interestingly, We use a lubricant where I work that smells EXACTLY like Rem-Oil. I work in a steel mill and our fabricating department uses this oil on a production line to lubricate punches that punch holes in metal. Now, knowing how cheap my company is, this generic oil is used because it is CHEAP! I think Rem-Oil is the same thing as this generic industrial oil. Its all about making a big profit.
I've told this story here in the past. I'm telling it again because if I relied on that pistol with that oil to defend myself from a crack-head burglar or home-invasion practitioner, my beloved SIG, that had never jammed in 5000 rounds, would have fired once and stopped working.