Decent $ on used Fisher F2 metal detector?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Last summer was interested in getting a gas grill & metal detector, got sidetracked. Recently bought the "nused" Weber Q for a gas grill- got that covered, the cast iron grate is great!

Metal detector- I have no experience at all. Inet research produces short list with strong rec's for a beginners machine. Of the Big Names, the Garrett Ace 250, Tesoro Compadre, & Fisher F2 all have strong supporters.

Looked on Cragslist, found only one thing reasonably close- but it might be a winner. Fisher F2 combo package, lightly used for 2 months, includes unit with standard 8" coil, plus smaller 4" coil, plus handheld pinpinter, plus headphones, wants $165.(says he paid $243 new) It'll cost ~$10 in gas for the round trip. This same pkg available now online, brand new, for $215.

If I could get it down to about $125 I'd buy it without thinking. Even asking price isn't that bad- it does all look brand new- BUT: warranty is not tranferable. So long as he has it, there's about 4 yrs 10 mos warranty left. If I have it, strictly trust to luck for nothing to go wrong.

Still, it seems to me that this might be a fairly cheap way to try this out- add a garden trowel & go! Rather than try to split hairs over which brand/machine may have some small advantage over another, I'd be perfectly willing to just try the Fisher F2- lotsa folks seem to like them, & the bang-for-buck factor is sure there.

Metal detector folks- what do you think? All help appreciated, TIA.

My mistake- the Fisher F2 combo sold online for $215 does *not* include headphones. So it's a little better deal than it seemed before.

I would personally buy it new. If it is broken or not working properly it may be difficult to tell.

I was looking at Canadian Tire metal detectors and did a bit of research.