Best oil for 2005 GMC Canyon

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: rokwldr
I hav been using 10w30 mobil 1 syn in both my GMC Canyon & Envoy. both have about 50,000 miles. I also pull a boat that weighs 3700 lbs, only 300 lbs short of max. I have never had an oil related problem, and have been using M1 for 25 years. It probaly isn't the best rated, but it is good and easy to find. Now about 28 bucks for 5 qts at wallyworld.
QSUD 5W30 is $20.57 @ Wal-Mart .. very good oil at a great price. your truck will not know the difference. Try it..
cool.gif

Originally Posted By: bandz7

I've heard of possible fuel dilution b/c of the direct injection. Anybody had this problem with the Canyons

These motors are NOT direct-injection.

You could also try shell rotella t6 5-40 it is rated for gas engines, and is very good oil. I'm not an engineer but I think this oil would work fine, even though its a 40w. It is afull syn, it could probaly be used in everything from the lawnmower to the motorcycle.

I have a 2006 I5. I Use Mobil 1 10-30 I ran it hard as [censored] for 12000 mi then sent it to Blackstone Labs, they said it could go to 15000 mi. I have 68000mi and never an issue with the engine. I live in S Fla and tow a 3500 lb boat a lot.

Originally Posted By: rossn2
I live in Central Tx where last summer we had over 100 days of plus 100 temps. I've had both a GMC Canyon (4cyl) and CHEV Colorado (5cyl. They both got Pennzoil Platinum 10w-30 (5qt jugs from Wally world)during the summer and 5w-30 during the winter with either GM or Wix filter and 5000 miles oil change intervals. Never had any issues. And, a lot of the GM dealerships in Texas are using 10w-30 bulk oil..

I live in the Dallas area with 100 plus temps through out the summer. I have always run dino's usually VWB, QSAD, or MSK 10w 30 with a Purolator classic filter all handle the heat well. QSAD seemed to run a little quieter and smoother in my two cars, GM 3.4L and Toyota 1.4L.