Snake in my pond

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not a snake expert and honestly it is my first encounter with a snake in a wild in KY.
I just bought a house in the Louisville suburbs. It has Koi fish pond (neglected, I just started taking care of it, bought new pump, aerators, assembled big barrel filter, changed most water out).
Can you guys identify this shake? I guess it is water snake. I took a picture from upper deck. As soon as I stepped closer to the pond it dived into pond.
30 Mins later it was hiding in the water plant pot and dived again as soon as it saw me. I haven't seen it before, so maybe it came today.
Questions:can it be harmful to humans and can it hurt my Koi fish?
How to chase it out, my fiance is afraid of snakes, but looks like this snake is more afraid of humans?
9355265180_9a2ba259df_b.jpg

Last edited:
Without being able to see its head or tail its somewhat hard to identify on color alone.

As a Indiana rule of thumb (and im sure its the same elsewhere)
if the snake has a oval or rounded head, its more than likely not dangerouse, However if the had is a pyramid or diamond shape.. watch your ankles ! they tend to be the ones you want to avoid.

Ive found in my area that 99% of snakes want to be left alond and will run away from you unless they are protecting there nest.

AND I Agree.. kill it..

Last edited:
Looks like a copperhead...I am guessing you live near a river or creek. Kill it. It is slow on dry ground, but can move well in water. It can be aggressive. It is poisonous, so be sure to crush his head after you kill it.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: hardcore302
If you don't have a shotgun, but own a handgun, use some shot shells. Or aim very well with bullets. I wouldn't get close to that thing. Good luck!

I were thinking about getting Ruger, but only have a CO2 BB handgun so far
smile.gif