Engine Oil and Filter Recommendation, 2004 Tahoe

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I'm new here. I recently purchased a 2004 Chevy Tahoe with the 5.3 v8. It has 216,000 miles on it. According to the previous owner the oil was changed on time (I assume every 3,000 or so miles) and with synthetic.
With the vehicle having such high mileage I wanted to make sure I ran an oil that would be best for the mileage and of course the right filter.
It travels roughly 20 miles most days.
I'm open to conventional ore synthetic, whichever is best. I'm new to this and I appreciate any help I get.
Thanks

welcome2.gif
! I'd run a conventional like Quaker State or Pennzoil for 5K with a Puro Classic filter

Stick with synthetic...5w30 quaker state ultimate durability, available at walmart for under $22 for 5 quart jug. Use Purolator Classic oil filter also available at walmart. If its a short tripper then I say stay with 3000 mile oil change interval.

Back when I had my Avalanche with the 5.3, I was running Pennzoil Conventional 10W-40 with a WIX 51522 and following the oil life monitor.

If you'd like to run a synthetic, I would say Pennzoil Platinum 5W-30 would be a safe bet, as would Mobil 1 0W-30 AFE or 0W-40.

I would make the oil a high mileage type oil to help keep seals and gaskets in good shape.
Filter? Wix, Purolater, Bosch to name a few.

Welcome to BITOG!

Napa Synthetic is on sale for $3.49 per quart this month. It is Valvoline Synpower, a great product. Any Napa filter would work. Napa's oil filters are made by Wix. Napa Gold is the regular Wix filter, and Napa Platinum is Wix XP. The Platinum is on sale for $7.54. The Gold is not on sale.

Doesn't that truck have an oil life monitor? If so, then simply use the interval it suggests.

I have a 99 silverado with the 5.3. I ran Amsoil 5w-30 exclusively for over 100000kms but cost became a factor so I started experimenting with other products.