Shotgun Ammo

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all,

I picked up a Remington 870 12gauge Exp Tactical yesterday. I have been eying a shotgun for a long time now and I chose the Remington 870 after checking out many shotguns.

However I am a novice when it comes to shotgun ammo as I am mainly familiar with pistols. The place I bought the shotgun from recommended some birdshot for target and gave me a box of 25 12g 2 3/4", 1oz shot, #7.5

Here are my questions. Which ammo would you select for the following applications. I want to use 2 3/4"

1. Range ammo used for target. Do I want to use #8 birdshot 1oz?
2. Home defense. Keep in mind I live in non-gun friendly NY and a lawyer would love to pin intent to kill over maim in a defense scenario.

My barrel is not rifled..do I only need to worry about this when buying slugs? Any particular brands of ammo I should avoid or is all shotgun ammo decent?

My shotgun also came with a breach choke. I must have a choke on to avoid thread damage at the end of the barrel and I was told I can buy a plane choke. Are there particular shells I want to avoid firing with a breach choke on?

I have a Mossberg 500 Tactical. I don't shoot it much at the range, caused major shoulder pain. For a "home defense" load, I have Winchester PDX1 shells.

For home defense, use standard 2 3/4" #1 buckshot or low recoil 2 3/4" 00 buckshot. Never use birdshot for home defense.

Use whatever. I have droped deer thirty yards with number four birdshot. Most the shot at30-40 yard stayed tighter then two inches. It will kill intruter dirt nap dead in the next room over through the wall. Kill the wife and kids in the room behind him and continue to the neighbors. Try never to use any shot guñ in home.

Ken