Best Pushmowers Ever (List)

Status
Not open for further replies.
The other discussion on "quality pushmower that will last" brought up some interesting dsicussions, and evoked some memories for me of all my experiences growing up workin on and using lawnmowers (started mowing lawns and fixing mowers at about age 8....now I am a degreed Mechanical Engineer working in aerospace)

From my own experiences, here is my short list of great lawnmowers that I would own again in a heartbeat. There is no order of preference here, but I am partial to two strokes.

Honda HR214SX (alloy deck)
Lawn Boy Dura-Force Silver Series (the last of the Lawn Boy Two-stokes)
Lawn Boy D Series (also called the T-head).....mid to late 1960's into the early 1970's
Snapper Commerical from the 1980s and 1990s Hi_vac alloy deck with the Wisconsin-Robin Two Stroke (Suzuki made) engine
John Deere Commerical Walk behind with the Kawasaki Engine

That's it. Feel free to discuss
smile.gif

Last edited:
In my opinion, those are some of the best. Honda made a number of commercial quality alloy deck mowers that are built like tanks. I have an HR215SXA and it runs like an absolute top. You may already know, but the HR214 number means: [H]onda [R]otary mower, [21] inch cut, [4] hp rated engine, elf propelled, [X] recoil starter. Other options were [P]ush or [H]ydrostatic drive, and [M]otor (electric) starter.

You can see that in Honda's naming scheme today, and they round up on the rated hp to get a single digit number. So a 21" mower with a 5.5 hp GCV-160 would be a 216 and a 217 indicates the larger 6.5 hp GCV- or GSV-190.