Victory 20w-40 semi-syn oil. . . .

Status
Not open for further replies.
I searched this topic and found nothing. Was wondering if anyone has evaluated this oil for quality / additives. It's spec'd for my new Victory Cross Country Tour. As an oddball oil spec, there's only one alternative that I can find--Castrol 20w-40 semi-syn. Info on this oil is also scarce.

I realize that Rotella T will likely do the job and I may end up using that at some point, but during the warranty period I'll likely use the Victory branded oil. . .if it's decent oil, I may continue using it. Any Victory owners opinions are welcomed, as I'm new to this brand.

--Rob

most 20w40 oils I have seen were actually formulated for diesel locomotives

http://www.google.ca/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=7&ved=0CGIQFjAG&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.alexisoil.com%2Fpdf%2FDelo6170CFOSAE20W4040.pdf&ei=yvvCUf7sB-HtigLduICQBA&usg=AFQjCNHXGvpn6NYx1RxUIdXcchmHP1v3Ow&sig2=cgNTAZXA_WXrOXEYFBvP9A&bvm=bv.48175248,d.cGE&cad=rja

most 20w40 oils I have seen were actually formulated for diesel locomotives

Delo 710 LE SAE 20W-40

Delo 710 LE SAE 20W-40 is a premium quality diesel engine oil designed for use in marine and railroad applications. Designed for use in both Low Sulfur Diesel (LSD) and Ultra Low Sulfur Diesel (ULSD) engines, Delo 710 delivers value through offering excellent wear control and deposit control while maximizing engine cleanliness for longer oil life and reduced oil consumption as compared to monograde engine oils.

http://canada.deloperformance.com/products/engine-oils.aspx

admin please delete my previous post, thanks

Last edited:
Most likely the Victory oil was formulated with zero viscosity index improvers to prevent the typical shearing that happens to shared sump oil. The gears in the transmission will literally cut up the VI improver molecules and the oil can shear back to a less protective 30 grade or lower.