Stihl Chainsaw - chain keeps moving even at idle

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not an expert on chainsaw mechanics, so thought I'd ask for some suggestions from those of you more familiar with these machines than I am. Basically, I have a Stihl 029 Farm Boss chainsaw that I've had since '98 or '99. It has been, and still is, a great saw that has seen a lot of duty in various disaster relief operations (post Hurricane Katrina, 2011 southeast tornado relief, etc.). The only thing wrong with it is that sometimes after I cut some logs the chain keeps turning even after I release the trigger to bring it back to idle. Sometimes blipping the trigger will get it to stop, sometimes not. This is rather dangerous and I would like some pointers on fixing it myself if at all possible (I'd rather not take it to the shop as that is expensive). I find myself often holding the chain against a tree limb to get the chain to stop.

So what do you think is causing this? High idle speed? Bad clutch? Or both? Would adjusting idle fix this and how do you do that on a chainsaw? I'll also mention that I always store this saw without fuel in it; I drain the fuel out and run the carburetor dry and then put it in storage.

I have a 6 year old Stihl MS250 that did the same thing. I think the ethanol in the gasoline is to blame for jacking up the carburetor. My father in law was able to locate some ethanol free fuel last summer when we had 30 trees to drop at his place. The saw ran much better after the first tank of straight gas. It could be a coincidence but, I only run ethanol free fuel through it now.

Last edited: