Nuclear Power and Chernobyl

Status
Not open for further replies.
Lately, it's a topic I've been very interested in, more so than in the past. that is to say, Nuclear power. There is a LOT of misinformation, and FUD, surrounding nuclear power. People like to point to 3 mile island, and of course, Chernobyl when speaking out against it. That got me to thinking, and I've spent a lot of time, doing research, documentaries, and reading a lot of literature on it. I'm not a nuclear engineer, at all But Something I do have is a talent to read, and look at something and be able to very quickly and easily grok it. that is to say, inherently understand. I can look at something, and understand how it works.

And what I've found is... People have no idea what they are afraid of. They hear nuclear and think that what happened at chernobyl could happen anywhere. For those who don't know, this is what really caused the disaster at Chernobyl.

The soviet RBMK1000 reactors, like those used at Chernobyl, were actually quite impressive in many ways. They were cheap to build, and easy to operate compared to most other reactors at the time. However, it had some major flaws, that, coupled with operators who weren't aware of those flaws because it was kept hidden, meant that the disaster was inevitable.

Prior to the accident, the operators of the Chernobyl NPP were planning to run a test on the Unit #4 to see how long the turbines would continue to generate power to power the reactors main coolant pumps, before the diesel generators kicked in. For the test, they wanted the reactor to be in a certain power range. As they decreased power by inserting the control rods, a side effect of the design of the reactor meant that with lower power, a certain element was produced that "poisoned" the core, further lowering output.