Mobil 1 vs Liqui Moly

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been using Mobil 1 for many years but have recently been seeing Liqui Moly motor oil on store shelves. Liqui Moly is advertised as a German motor oil. I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with Liqui Moly or how it compares to Mobil 1.

Liqui Moly are the biggest engine oil company in Germany in terms of total sales to private customers, Castrol are a close second and Mobil third.
I have been using Synthoil High Tech 5/40 for some time and my UOA results are very good so far, although Castrol have cut their prices so I will change to Edge TD 5/40 next to see how it compares.
The only way to compare the different oils would be to do a few UOA's, as I don't think there are any posted showing a change from one oil to the other.

It's pretty hard to compare two huge oil companies as a whole. If you had a specific type of Mobil and Liqui-Moly oils it might be easier for people to comment.

Pretty strange name for a German company. Sounds like the kind of mousemilk sticker you used to see on Indy cars, next to the MOTOR MEDIC decal.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: skyship
Liqui Moly are the biggest engine oil company in Germany in terms of total sales to private customers, Castrol are a close second and Mobil third.

Really??? I have seen Liqui Moly here more and more on selves but I never thought they were that big in Germany. For some reason I had impression that Aral would be bigger than LM - just an impression.

He said Liqui Moly is the biggest "engine oil" company in Germany in terms of sales to private customers. It is not the biggest oil company in Germany nor is it the best. Here in the US, Taco Bell is the largest "pseudo Mexican" fast food chain but not the best nor the largest fast food chain.

Liqui Moly is not a factory fill for any vehicles made in Germany.

Originally Posted By: dparm