10W30 in Air Compressor?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys Ive been using 10W30 in my 60 gallon air compressor for a while now. Wondering if anybody else does this?? Thinking about switching it to a 15W40 because Ive got a bunch of it

No never would just run top notch compressor fluid I run Amsoil PCK ISO 100 fluid this is for my 7.5HP 80 Gal compressor.

Is the compressor fluid synthetic?

Most in the big box stores are not. Like said Amsoil PCK I think is one of the best.

My Quincy calls for SAE40 compressor oil. I put amsoil SAE30/40 oil in it and it won't start when it's cold out. I'd like to go to a 0wxxor 5wxx oil but it has all kinds of warnings about not using car oil in it.

I've been running 30w hdeo in my 5hp 60 gal compressor for many years. Had the thing for 20 years now. No problems. Mine calls for 30 or 40 non detergent but it's not easy to find.

Thats what I figured. oil is oil. For an air compressor any 30wt would be fine. Like I said, ive been using supertech in mine for a while now. No problems

Originally Posted By: Chris142
My Quincy calls for SAE40 compressor oil. I put amsoil SAE30/40 oil in it and it won't start when it's cold out. I'd like to go to a 0wxxor 5wxx oil but it has all kinds of warnings about not using car oil in it.

How cold is cold mine runs and starts up fine at temps well below 20F running Amsoil PCK dont think oil is the problem.

I've seen manuals call for both M1 10w-30 and genuine ISO 68 air compressor oil, all in the same manual for the same compressor. These products are decidedly not identical. So, your guess is as good as mine.
wink.gif

Originally Posted By: dave123
Originally Posted By: Chris142

How cold is cold mine runs and starts up fine at temps well below 20F running Amsoil PCK dont think oil is the problem.
Anything below about 40F. One night it was 10F then it warmed up to 33F and it would not start. It smoked the belt instead.