Help with timing belt Eclipse V6

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello

I own a 2000 mitsubishi eclipse with the 3.0L V6 engine. The car have 90,000 miles on it, and i'm pretty sure the timing belt has never been changed. I'm very worried about the timing belt because it is an interference engine (that's what i have read on the internet).
I'm going to attempt to change the timing belt myself tomorrow. I need help, i have two questions.

1) I am a student and im in a budget right now. So i'm just replacing the belt itself,the idler pulley and the tensioner pulley.
I'm going to reuse the water pump and the hydraulic tensioner (that little thing that has a pin and you have to put it in a vise to take it back to it's original position).
Is there any major problem if i reuse the hydraulic tensioner? (i can't afford a new one)

2)when aligning the timing marks with the ratchet.....I must go clockwise? does it matter if i turn the engine counter-clockwise?

thanks.

Last edited:
I *have* heard anecdotal evidence before that turning an engine over backwards is bad, mostly pertaining to various things. Some bearings don't like it, some cams are setup to only spin one way and turning it backwards can cause binding against components that aren't worn in that direction, some pumps or oil pumps won't spin happily in reverse. If you can, I'd say avoid it. If you can't? You're honestly probably fine. Most of this is likely old gearhead logic that no longer applies, if it even did in the first place. I'm sure others will have more info for you.

As for the hydraulic tensioner, that really depends if its working properly (firmly) or not. I know on my car, ones with the hydraulic tensioner have a reset procedure so it can easily be reused. Of course, a faulty tensioner that can't hold pressure is a fast way to eat a new belt, and most will tell you to replace it anyhow for peace of mind, so its a gamble.

You are in a tough spot as far as doing this job on a small budget.