New car - How many miles is too many?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was looking at a 2013 Focus a few weeks ago, and I noticed that it had 421 miles on it. That seems like an awful lot of test driving to me. Of course the sales people said that they have many cars with more miles than that, and that it's perfectly normal, and that it's nothing to worry about.

My current car had 19 miles on it when I took delivery, so 421 seems like a lot. How many miles do you think is too many for a brand new car?

421? Really. Unless they are willing to sell that car well below invoice then that is too many miles. Find another car. The sales people are telling you Beee Esss. I worked as a sales consultant at a stealership not too long ago to see how things were done. The only "new" cars with that many miles I saw were the cars that the owners or general manager drove which were always high end models (expensive) and sold with huge discounts.

Lowest I've had is 81k - they came down a lot
wink.gif

Oh you mean "a" new car vs "my" new car
wink.gif

400+ miles isn't new. If I'm paying full tilt (never happen) its gotta be under 100.

If i buy a new car, the only person driving it before me is the service/prep people.

Last edited:
I bought my daughters Corolla and it had 538 miles on it. After I balked at the miles they gave us the extended warranty for no charge (7 year/100k which costs about $800).

My new Escalade had 21 miles on it and I was really mad at that because I ordered it.

If i buy new, i would not want anything more then 150 miles. For me to buy the 400 mile brand new car it would have to come with a lot of freebies and or cash discount over the 100 mile one.

at 400 miles it only new by state laws (never titled to a person). It could of been the dealership's beater test drive car. Could of been a dealership's rental car (another reason it can be beaten). With all these break-in periods on engines and to have someone redline a couple of times.