HTHS vis spec trumps the Kinematic 100C vis spec'

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: A_Harman
...As far as "optimum oil pressure" is concerned, the owner's manual for my Camaro states that the normal range of safe oil pressure for the LS1 engine is 20-80psi.

Generally, the oil pressure should be an incremental scale for the plain bearings protection. I hear 10 psi per 1,000 RPM for a performance engine.

20 PSI at 6,000 RPM would be trouble, 60 PSI would be great.

LS1 engines are pretty tough. It can handle a lot and even when they start knocking and the oil pressure is low, they still run forever.

Chevy engines are my favorite, particularly BBC although I have no Chevy vehicles currently.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Jeff_in_VABch
Have you guys read High Temperature High Shear Oil Viscosity by James A. Spearot? I studied this about 20 years ago when it came out and have not read it lately, but I dont believe you are understanding HTHS. Also, I believe HTHS relates differently to modern engine assemblies and changes in bearing materials and crankshaft finishes in the last 15 or so years.

In the book there are also examples of where an oil with higher HTHS are capable of causing accelerated wear over one with a lower HTHS viscosity depending on the base fillers.

You can read a few pages of it here for free: http://books.google.com/books?id=XjTaOqEgHeEC&printsec=frontcover#v=onepage&q&f=false

Also, this SAE paper is a MUST read to understand current 20W events, but applies to all oil.

http://www.infineum.com/Documents/Crankc...icants-2010.pdf

Look at the tables and figures, they are great stuff. You can also see the HTHS numbers at both 100 & 150C. The bearing wear numbers look counter intuitive at first until you think about the MOFT and bearing clearances.

Combination of three things lead to metal - metal contact (oil-film breakdown) and subsequent bearing wear and failure:

(1) High torque
(2) Low RPM
(3) Low HTHS viscosity