Tools for spark plug change 2004 Taurus Duratec

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just ordered 6 Autolite Iridium (XP104) spark plugs for the grand sum of $14 after rebate.

I thought that for that cost, I may as well put them on my almost 9 year old / 70k Taurus sooner rather than later and enjoy the improvement.

I've never done spark plugs before and need tools. The instructions for my vehicle are here:

http://www.taurusclub.com/wiki/index.php?title=Changing_the_Spark_Plugs_on_the_Duratec

The backs are known to be tricky. So it is recommended to have some various bits and pieces as follows

A spark plug socket, 8 inch extension and ratchet will reach the two plugs closest to the passenger's side of the car.

In order to reach the plug closest to the driver's side of the car you will need the socket, ratchet, 2 four inch extensions and a Universal joint to go between the extensions. There is an obstruction in line with where you want to be so you need the U joint.

Where and what brand is my best option for these tools?

Is there anything else you recommend for someone doing this for their first time?

I am not familiar with your car but I find it helps to use a "locking" extension. It will lock into the spark plug socket so it doesn't fall off. Another useful thing is to put anti seize onto the threads to prevent seizing. Some people will buy about a foot of rubber hose that the top of the plug will fit snugly into and use it to start the plugs. Good luck.

Just go to harbor freight this friday. Show them the list. they will hook u up. Lifetime warranty tools. cheap.

When I've replaced the back three plugs on other Duratecs, though they were in Escapes, I removed the upper intake manifold. It actually wasn't as bad as it sounds. Remove the wiring harness and set it off to the side. I believe it goes toward the drivers side. Then I believe there were 8 bolts for the intake, a couple bolts for the EGR valve, then it slips off somewhat awkwardly.