Rules for buying a shotgun out of state

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a resident of NJ (live here more than six months out of the year), but I also own a second house in Virginia and spend several months a year there. Because the VA house is very rural, I want to buy a shotgun for home defense. Two different Walmarts said no problem, but another licensed gun store said I need to have an NJ FID to make the purchase.

Virginia does not require a permit to purchase a long gun, but Federal law states that a licensed gun dealer may sell "any rifle or shotgun to a resident of a State other than a State in which the licensee's place of business is located if the transferee meets in person with the transferor to accomplish the transfer, and the sale, delivery, and receipt fully comply with the legal conditions of sale in both such States."

The gray area here seems to be the statement "fully comply with the legal conditions of sale in both such States." NJ requires an FID to buy any gun in NJ (not to possess, just to buy), but I am not buying in NJ. Further, I intend to keep the shotgun in the VA house and will not bring it to NJ.

I believe the different positions between Walmart and the gun shop is their interpretation of this phrase. Can anyone bring some clarity to the need for a NJ FID to buy a shotgun in VA?

Tom NJ

Tom i have no idea but be careful. A friend of mine came from Texas with his legally bought gun, make a real long story short.
No crime was committed but they charged him with interstate transportation of a firearm and he did a year and a day in the Fed pen.

He had no record or anything else and had a Massachusetts firearms license. He sold the gun and i guess thats when things got funny and brought the feds down on him.