Need oil recommendations - 2012 Subaru Forester XT

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I need some help choosing an oil to use in a new vehicle. Per the sticky, here's my info...

1. 2012 Subaru Forester turbo
2. Gotta check the manual, not sure at the moment but think it's 10W30
3. I live in a warm tropical climate
4. I would say I'm a moderate driver, generally easy on vehicles but like to get on it occasionally
5. Short drives, typically the longest drive is about 15 miles one way per day, fair amount of stop and go traffic, fair amount of short trips (less than 3 miles)
6. Vehicle purchased new a few months ago
7. Prefer a store bought oil rather than having to mail order. I don't mind frequent oil changes and have no desire to extend change intervals. I do always get my oil analyzed though.

I'm at around 1200 miles on the odometer now and am wanting to change out the oil asap. I have no preference at the moment for dino or synthetic. Probably leaning towards dino since I don't mind changing oil frequently. I don't believe the manual specifies synthetic but will double check.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Depends on the price, any major brand should be just fine. I prefer Valvoline, SOPUS, or M1 products simply because I use them with no problems.

I do not have a 2012 Suby manual but, Pennzoil Platinum 5w30 has the approval of Honda/Acura. Mobil1 meets the same spec. I definitely would run a good synthetic in the viscosity specified in the owners manual and would follow the OCI recommended. A great vehicle these Subaru's and I really like the Forester XT.

Hey howzit?

Your FXT is spec'd for SM/SN 5W-30 and requires synthetic oil. As a first choice, I would recommend Motul X-clean 5W-30. It's SM, has a good bit of zinc, and meets Euro ACEA A3 requirements for shear stability. There's a recent WRX uoa on it in the uoa forum.