Results- Meguiars Plastx Corolla Headlights

Status
Not open for further replies.
A friend of mine let me borrow this to give it a try, so I used it on my MIL's '05 Corolla. Pretty pleased with the product. Some oxidation towards the bottom wouldn't come out, but I'd say 95% better, finished off with a coat of wax on them.

The first after picture has alot of reflection on it, doesn't do it any justice.

Before:
CorollaBefore.jpg

CorollaBefore2.jpg

After:
CorollaAfter.jpg

CorollaAfter2.jpg

Looks very nice. I used 3M headlight restore on E430 and Tracer and very please with it too. Took about 1 hour from start to finish.

Now if you drive the Corolla at night you will see much better.

Not bad for an off-the-shelf product.

Next time try it with a good orbital buffer -- you can probably get even better results.

dparm, thanks for the tip. I'm just getting into detailing, etc. An orbital buffer is on my list to buy!

Will any orbital work? The Dual action ones are pretty expensive.

I wanna play...

Here's my neighbors BMW Z4. The passenger side gets hit by the sprinkler system every day which causes the headlight to oxidize.

I used Meg's PlastX with Mothers Red powerball connected to my drill exactly as shown in this pic...

Mothers Powerball polishing foam

20 minutes of polishing with a few stops in order to let the plastic cool for a few minutes and i got these results.

BEFORE:

IMG_1688.jpg

IMG_1690.jpg

AFTER:

IMG_1699.jpg

IMG_1698.jpg

It would have never looked this good had i done it by hand. It would have taken 4 hours of non stop rubbing to MAYBE achieve these results.

Sorry to thread jack.
27.gif

Haha, threadjack away
smile.gif
Yours look VERY good. Did you finish off with a wax? Or is the Plastx supposed to seal it as well?

Originally Posted By: chubbs1
Looks very good panthermike. Thanks for jackin the thread Artem;) Looks like new.