Objective Seafoam Experiment

Status
Not open for further replies.
I had to remove the intake plenum couple weeks ago to clean the EGR passageway. The plenum was filthy. I decided to do a little experiment and did NOT clean the plenum.

Since Seafoam claims do the intake cleaning and there are lots and lots of testimonial on the internet about how Seafoam makes the engine sound and perform like new, I said why not see if there is any merit to it. I have the perfect vehicle, 1999 Odyssey with 185K on the clock which was never Seafoam'd before in its life. It should get at least 50hp back :) But being an engineer, I was not going to settle for the seat of pants results. I wanted objective before and after data. So I took pictures of the intake plenum end cap and the idle vacuum readings. If Seafoam claims are to be believed, the change would be obvious. This also gives me the opportunity to brag a little about my stash of tools :) Sadly, I use them very occassionally :-(

Watch the pictorial and make your own conclusion.

Odyssey Seafoam Experiment

Last edited:
That was NOT the EGR passage. This is an endcap on the intake plenum.

Seafoam did nada on an engine which we know must have quite a lot of filth inside. The minute increase in the engine vacuum can be attributed to experimental error.

On the other hand, 23" vacuum is probably is the max one can get on a well running engine at sea level (right? right??)

I eyeballed the filth and measured the engine vacuum before doing the Seafoam treatment and then repeated after the Seafoam.

Can we agree that in this particular case, Seafoam experiment is failure regardless of how bad or good the smoke show was?

- Vikas

Last edited:
imag0031lj.jpg