Need Help With Transmission Filter "O-Ring"

Status
Not open for further replies.
2005 Chevy Astro 4L60-E automatic transmission.

I'm calling it an o-ring because everyone else does. It reminds me of a valve stem seal. It is the rubber component that holds the filter in place in the transmission.

I can not get the old one out. Anyone know the procedure, trick/tip on how to remove the o-ring?

I have a 90 degree pick I tried using. Once I realized the o-ring wasn't going to come out easy, I stopped.

Just went through this with my truck trans filter. I took a small pocket screwdriver and went up along side of it carefully, and then worked it inward. There is a metal ring inside the o-ring that will deform. Then you can use a spring puller to get it out. Lube your new ring well with trans fluid, and push it home using the new filter.

The last time I changed the ATF on a GM I just reused the old one since it wasn't coming out easy. The new filter held firmly.
On my 4T65E the ring was made of metal.

beanoil: You did this on the 4L60?

To all: I drained the FF and put in a new filter using the old o-ring and all seems well. I dropped the pan twice since, exchanging the fluid but leaving the filter.

I'm going to drop the pan once more and I will replace the filter again then call it done for a while. This time I want to replace the o-ring since I plan on leaving everything alone for at least 15K.

I just want to know how everyone else is getting that o-ring out.