Gun Range Hearing Protection

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, Ive been using the same hearing protection for the past several years, its a Peltor Ultimate 10 (NRR 30). I always double up with ear plugs as well, but im still not happy with the noise reduction lately. I used to shoot at an outdoor range, where the ear muffs worked well, I just joined an indoor range and would like better hearing protection.

Any suggestions?
Thanks

your ear plugs may be keeping the ear muffs from sealing. I've never had a problem with ear muffs not protecting enough.

I double up too. I use earplugs that I cut the cord off of and newer muffed that work over my glasses. Also you need to really cram those plugs in. Be careful but don't be shy.

There is a simple old way for calculating NRR for doubling up. You DO NOT get double protection. If you have ear muffs with a NRR of 26 and plugs at 32, you take the higher number and only add 5 to the NRR. So in this case 32 + 5 = 37 NRR. Foam ear plugs have some of the best NRR at 32. There are more complex ways to figure it out but this is a good guideline to use.

Last edited:
I can't stand foam ear plugs they never work and once you do get them shoved in their they only seem to stay in for about 5 minutes or so.

Hate indoor ranges (been in one twice in the last 20+ years and hated both times)

I've found ear plugs put in correctly work quite well.

Bill

Originally Posted By: motor_oil_madman
I can't stand foam ear plugs they never work and once you do get them shoved in their they only seem to stay in for about 5 minutes or so.

Could be a few things here. First, you might not be putting them in correctly buy pulling down on your ear lobe and then sqeezing and putting them in all the way. Second, the round cylinder plugs are the worst out there comfort/fit wise, if thats what you use I'd try something different. Third, you could have very narrow ear canals.

This is my favorite ear foam ear plugs: