Going Blind Shopping

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've gone through two sets of window blinds in my office. The first set came with the house, the replacement blinds - plain vanilla, aluminum Venetian - the tiny internal strings all melted away after a couple years. Bought (ordered to size) from Costco. Real, pure junk. Waste of time and money and looked like poop.

I would like wood. What the heck brands are good and worthy? Company that stands behind the product?

Random Google hit: http://www.selectblinds.com/wood-blinds.html

I've ordered a bunch of bali blinds for our house from blinds.com in the past and have always been satisfied with the quality. Alas, I am not a blinds expert.

I ran a lead test on my cheap blinds. You got it, loaded. Thanks China. Have a home depot out there? They have custom wood, will have them cut to your specs. Good prices overall.

I have gotten many wood blinds from J C Penny over the years and have never had one fail in service, probably half of them have gone into commercial service.

Originally Posted By: Win
I have gotten many wood blinds from J C Penny over the years and have never had one fail in service, probably half of them have gone into commercial service.

I bought some Levelor blinds from JCP a few years ago. With discounts it was almost 60% off and then are holding up well so far. I don't know how real the wood is, but they look nice and were cheaper than other options.

The strings of my vertical blinds are still working. All vertical blinds came with the house when I bought it 14 years ago, at that time the house was 27 years old, I don't know how old were the blinds when we moved in.