Anyone seen a UOA of Valvoline 20w50 4T yet?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Trying to decide whether to run this or Mobil 1 15w50 in the Triumph Speedmaster. Both are pretty much the same in price just have to drive a few towns over for the Valvoline. Any idea if the Valvoline holds up well in a shared sump?

Its what i had in the sump of my R1 in 2009 when i blew the motor.. lesson learned. stick with 10-40 in a inline 4.

I wonder how different the Valvoline MC 20W-50 4T oil is compared to the VR-1 20W-50 Race oil?

The VR-1 dino or synthetic seems to do SO GOOD in bikes can the MC stuff be that much better?

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: hal2626
Running Mobil 1 15w50 in my 2008 Triumph Scrambler 865 (nearly identical to your engine)...shifts smooooooooth!

Yeah the only difference is I have a 270 degree engine and the scrambler is a 360. And cant recall, but 2008 scramblers might be carbed or injected.

I ran the M1 15W-50 in both my Speedmasters.

But I agree with ammolab - the Valvoline VR-1 (conventional) Racing 20W-50 turned out to be an excellent oil and that's what I'm now using.... and also in several Harleys.

There are a few UOA's out here for that VR-1 and it's quite impressive, especially for a conventional oil.

Last edited:
I am afraid you are mistaken. My Scrambler IS a 270 degree motor and carbed. Bonnies and Thruxtons are 360's. I should know,I own one...

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: hal2626
I am afraid you are mistaken. My Scrambler IS a 270 degree motor and carbed. Bonnies and Thruxtons are 360's. I should know,I own one...

You are correct sir. I assumed all the "classic" range had the Bonnie engine.

I thought I had heard that VR-1 was NOT safe for wet clutches (such as the OP's Triumph, I believe). The VR-1 gets excellent reviews when being run in other bikes without wet clutches (or at least being run in a non-shared sump). I would not use it in your Triumph.