Gumout GDI Q&A Answers

click here for the Gumout GDI Q&A answers

Recent Topics
Mopar filters for 5.7
by xxch4osxx
25 minutes 55 seconds ago
Hyundai Veloster Turbo 1.6 GDI oil
by Bailey28
33 minutes 59 seconds ago
pressure washer shots down when moved
by friendly_jacek
Today at 02:46 PM
Wrapping Oil Filters in an Extra Layer of Media
by ExMachina
Today at 01:59 PM
Anyone see Lindsay Vaughn at the British GP?!
by SLO_Town
Today at 01:37 PM
Strange noise after an oil change (5W-40 to 5W-30)
by volodymyr
Today at 01:15 PM
Spark Plugs - 118,000 miles
by kd5byb
Today at 12:31 PM
Canoe motor question
by supton
Today at 12:19 PM
New Ruger 10/22
by Al
Today at 12:16 PM
Techron still considered good?
by KillYourTV
Today at 11:56 AM
Sludge control ideas
by Run
Today at 10:41 AM
Chicago imposes 9% 'cloud tax'
by Mr Nice
Today at 10:08 AM
Newest Members
mvilaca, Lube_Tech, MJAttic, anylettuce, bjb1273
54586 Registered Users
Who's Online
91 registered (Al, Atlantis, anl0109, 01_celica_gt, 2010Civic, aquariuscsm, 7 invisible), 1822 Guests and 119 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
54586 Members
66 Forums
233866 Topics
3756506 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#3144784 - 10/04/13 10:31 AM Re: Castrol Edge Q&A Answers posted [Re: wwillson]
Mit Offline


Registered: 10/01/13
Posts: 4
Loc: TX
I wish Castro Egde comes with 0-20W.

Top
#3144803 - 10/04/13 10:48 AM Re: Castrol Edge Q&A Answers posted [Re: Mit]
satinsilver Offline


Registered: 01/24/08
Posts: 3087
Loc: Ohio
I wish I lived on the beach.

Top
#3165086 - 10/23/13 02:42 PM Re: Castrol Edge Q&A Answers posted [Re: supercity]
drew2 Offline


Registered: 05/01/13
Posts: 8
Loc: NSW, Australia
hi all,
Does anybody know if the Australian castrol edge titanium 5w30 is the same product as the USA's version?
I presume that the australian one is is manufactured locally and therefore suspect quality and specs maybe different.
Thanks, drew

Top
#3165313 - 10/23/13 05:45 PM Re: Castrol Edge Q&A Answers posted [Re: drew2]
supercity Offline


Registered: 06/12/12
Posts: 962
Loc: Australia
Originally Posted By: drew2
hi all,
Does anybody know if the Australian castrol edge titanium 5w30 is the same product as the USA's version?
I presume that the australian one is is manufactured locally and therefore suspect quality and specs maybe different.
Thanks, drew


Welcome!

It's not the same, it's also not the same as what is sold in Europe. I would not be so cynical, its a good lube without the "environmental" whoohaa attached. It will say on the can where it is manufactured.

Top
#3167714 - 10/25/13 05:43 PM Re: Castrol Edge Q&A Answers posted [Re: supercity]
drew2 Offline


Registered: 05/01/13
Posts: 8
Loc: NSW, Australia
Thanks for your reply. I've been using the castrol edge titanium 5w30 in both my toyota 4.7L V8 landcruiser and toyota1.3L echo. Both vehicle books recommend 10w30, with 5w30 for cooler weather. I hope that the castrol edge titanium 5w30 will be ok for the australian summer, especially some of the hot 40C+ locations I travel to.

Top
#3170296 - 10/28/13 02:09 PM Re: Castrol Edge Q&A Answers posted [Re: drew2]
andrewp1998 Offline


Registered: 10/18/08
Posts: 261
Loc: MN USA
I just had the German 0w30 put in and it seems to have a bit more torque than the G tech syn 5w30 I had in there, motor sounds the same. Wix filter/0w30 german syn Castrol.
_________________________
2001 Honda civic HX 5 spd,175+k vtechE- napa silver for air and oil, GET 5w30 full syn..

Top
#3223289 - 12/21/13 12:43 AM Re: Castrol Edge Q&A Answers posted [Re: wwillson]
crazyoildude Offline


Registered: 07/23/08
Posts: 6843
Loc: new jersey
Hi Wayne,
That was great!

Top
#3411044 - 06/30/14 04:05 PM Re: Castrol Edge Q&A Answers posted [Re: wwillson]
dltowers Offline


Registered: 06/29/14
Posts: 7
Loc: Texas
Can anyone reply regarding whether Castrol Edge Syntec 5w50 is a good for classic cars needing ZDDP?

Top
#3588604 - 01/04/15 09:39 PM Re: Castrol Edge Q&A Answers posted [Re: wwillson]
zmelli Offline


Registered: 01/04/08
Posts: 153
Loc: SOCAL
Castrol Edge changed again? I went to Walmart and picked up the newest version of the 0W-40wt It was Made in Germany Edge with Titanium. Walmart had just finished putting up the new display. I went to three other Walmarts this weekend to pick up some 0w-40 and they were all out, I began to think this was just a temporary supply glitch. I guess they phased out the last version. You no longer have the choice between the regular and Titanium. The best part the price went down! I paid $21.00 and change for the 5qt Jug.
_________________________
06 Acura TSX 6-Speed/GC 0W-40/JS ASAKASHI C-307J
91 Honda Accord/GC 0W-30/JS ASAKASHI C-307J 98 CBR 900rr/Castrol4T 10W-50/HONDA OEM


Top
#3588640 - 01/04/15 10:22 PM Re: Castrol Edge Q&A Answers posted [Re: zmelli]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 28646
Loc: Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: zmelli
Castrol Edge changed again?

Yes, the black bottle Edge now has Titanium in it. There have been a few threads on this in various forums.
_________________________
'02 530i (PPE 5W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
#3655268 - 03/05/15 05:26 PM Re: Castrol Edge Q&A Answers posted [Re: wwillson]
SrChief Offline


Registered: 03/05/15
Posts: 2
Loc: FL
My vote: Pentosin HP II 5-w 40, and be done with the whole issue.
_________________________
02 530i

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3