Stop the CSK before it happens?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I own a 02 Sierra Denali with the 6.0. I currently have 5300 miles on it with no CSK (Cold Start Knock) yet. It goes without saying I don't want it. I have been running 5-30 Mobil 1 since about the mile 2000 mark. Because the feds have reduced the amounts of EP additives allowed in engine oil, I want to add more EP back into the oil. I really like the Schaeffer's #132 EP Moly additive, but the "Frothing oil" problem that was discovered in another thread here has me concerned. The Question is, can I add the #132 to my MI oil without any concequences, and will it help to prevent CSK. (Guys, I don't want to hear "change to Amsoil, or Redlile, or Royal Purple", I am using M1 because it's available, reletivly inexpensive, and I think it's one of the best)

Thanks, Butch 02 Sierra Denali

I think it's been shown on here a few times that the 132 and Mobil 1 work very well together, and I think it should help prevent the cold start knock. I do know quite a few guys with LS1 engines (which your engine is based on) with piston slap and a lot of them found that adding a quart or two of 15w50 helped out tremendously. So that's another option too. But try the 132 first.