Finally, a mechanical keyboard

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm out at the store today taking a look at laptops, since I have to replace mine and will be doing so within the next couple months. Well, I saw that they had a mechanical keyboard. I've always wanted one, never seen one that I liked (I like backlighting, but I didn't want to pay a ridiculous amount. Well, I found they had the Razer black Widow ultimate. Blue backlighting, Cherry MX Blue key switches, USB and USB passthrough, mic and headphone passthrough. What a great keyboard, I love these mechanical keyboards. The only thing that will really take some getting used to is the gaming macro keys on the left. I keep hitting m5 when I want control and m2 when I want tab lol.

IMG_2497.jpg

IMG_2498.jpg

Link to video

Last edited:
Well Nick I have to show you something....
grin2.gif

img3030gl.jpg

That is what I've been typing on (always on my main desktop) for over 20 YEARS! (this is the 101 model, the 102 came out around 1988) And still works like new (I know I use that term a lot) and as you can see not worn at all.

Yep the loud clicking mechanical keys just work for me. I love these so much that I bought 5 of them just in case when northgate went out of business (which they did)

This keyboard came with my 286 AT that I got back in 1987. Just keep getting adapters so I can keep it going.

One bad thing is you'll notice it has two home keys. Thankfully I know where the del key is without looking so no biggie. The other ones are correct...

I sit here and think how much key strokes over the DECADES this keyboard has seen... Impressive indeed!

01.gif

Take care, Bill

I remember buying a NOS IBM battleship clackety-clack keyboard (made in Ireland!) off eBay or some such, for cheap, back in 2000 or so. I used it for a short while but I think I didn't keep it because of a lack of a Windows key and the fact that it was too loud for others nearby. I wish I still had that thing though.