Carrier for Auto-rx and what next?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys, newbie here
grin.gif

I'm gonna add Auto-rx into my 177k miles Ford Taurus, recently acquired and my guess is dino all the while. I'm pretty sure the innards are really sludged/gunked up.

btw, I'm running Valvoline Maxlife 10W-30 now for the winter (in Ohio).

My question is which carrier dino oil should I use? I'm going for Supertech or Motorcraft filter for the 'cleansing'.

There after....the biggie question, Dino, blends or Syn (AMSOIL or M1)? I'm looking at 5000mile change intervals or 6 months.

Thanks!
smile.gif

I just added it and am using Exxonsuperflow. I would use the Maxlife or any other cheap dino oil. If your going to go with 5k mile drains, I'd go with Mobil 1.
smile.gif

I got great results with mobil drive clean 10w30 which is probably very similar to the superflow used above.

For the oil to use after the cleaning I recommend another interval of dino oil(Frank Does Too). This will make sure the seals stay well conditioned.

After that, a good synthetic oil like Mobil1, Schaefers, or Amsoil. I'm imagining a 40wt(ex. M1 0w40) oil would to OK in that engine but I don't know much about it.

--Matt

I had good results using Maxlife when I put in Auto-rx, but I wouldn't recommend using Maxlife with Auto-rx now that I know that the esters in Maxlife may slow down the cleaning effect of Auto-rx. So when using Maxlife you need to leave the RX in for a longer treatment cycle.

Go with something like Castrol GTX or Pennzoil.

[ February 06, 2003, 03:52 PM: Message edited by: Patman ]

Sprintman, enlighten me, isn't Delvac a Diesel engine oil?
dunno.gif

I reckon any ExxonMobil dino oil will do good?

I'm biased towards AMSOIL as I'm have a preferred acct
grin.gif

Thanks guys!

yes, devlac is a diesel engine oil. this leads to it having a lot of detergents in it. lots of people use it in gas engines with good results.

--Matt