Best Dry Gas?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Folks - when I was referring to "blast cleaning' with magadoses - it applied to used purchased beasts (read: cheap) that had zero maintenance...so I have given the fuel system a few good blasts, then went into a longer pattern clean up. Has worked well for some cars....

quote:

Originally posted by S2000driver:
To isopropyl or not, that is the question
wink.gif

What's the best brand?
Is once a year (say, every November) often enough for a newish car?

I'm no mechanic, but I DID have a chat once with a guy that flew crop dusters. He felt (at the time, that was over 10 years ago) that isopropyl was just dandy stuff. As for brand, just go to a pharmacy and ask for 99% pure isopropyl (if they give you funny looks, it may be because I've been told it's useful for some sort of narcotics thing as well)
Pour some in a glass and add an ice cube. You'll see for yourself how it attacks H2O. The last bit of the ice cube takes longer to go away, but 2 ounces of isopropyl takes about 1 ounce of water within a minute, so if you think there is 5 ounces of water in your tank, I'd add 5 ounces and 1 ounce every tank or two. That's what *I* would do but I'm no expert...
Do not add it to gasohol. A gasohol chemist I spoke with said that can really mess things up. He also said that when they were launching gasohol they thought they'd be plugging up a lot of fuel filters, bought a lot of fuel filters and sold them at the gas bars. 10 years later they still had 90% of the filters
wink.gif

In Manitoba the government is in the process of making it so that all gasoline will have to have 5% methanol, then 6% the next year, up to 10%. Something like that, I'm not following it too big. And I don't think I've ever heard of dry gasoline, but then again I think I only today figured out what VOA and UOA are (virgin and used oil analysis, right??)