Boron (anti-wear additive)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all, I've just become a member
smile.gif
. This forum has been very helpful for my V-8 Trans Am, turbo Eagle Talon, and oil drinking Saturn.

I subscribe a magazine, 'Machinery Lubrication.' While I was reading the Nov/Dec issue, I saw an ad of anti-wear additive called Lubron. This stuff is based on Boron CLS Bond, which was developed by Argonne Laboratories. After spending whole weekend reading this stuff, this stuff has lots of scientific proofs & test results. I've found three web sites that are related to this Boron stuff.
www.luboron.com
www.motorsilk.com
www.biolubrication.com

As an automotive engineer, I am a hard-core Mobil 1 believer. My cars get nothing but M1 (except for my Saturn). I don't buy any engine treatment nor oil additives. However, this stuff did really convince me to try this stuff out. Is this another B.S. like PTFE crap? I'd like to hear your honest opinion. Thanks.

[ January 06, 2003, 11:37 AM: Message edited by: TurboFrog ]

I was impressed with what I read there some 6-12mths ago although MotorSilk and LubriSilk differentation a little confusing. With Argonnes reputation and the list of companies using/evaluating Boron CLS Bond and some military tie up (F18 oleo strut was one if I remember correctly) I'd sure like to know more.