Motorvac carbon deposit removal

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm planning to take my wife's minivan to the dealer for their Motorvac Fuel System Cleaning process. Is anybody familiar with Motorvac process and products? Is it worth it?

Motorvac site

Thanks

With the right chemicals, this should work. But for my money I would run a bottle of Techron first. I'd give you a 90% probability of doing the same with a $6.00 bottle as I have done 100's of times for people.

My son-in-law turned me on to a product called SeaFoam. I've used it on several small engines with good results. The small engines were suffering from hard starting due to what I think was crud in the carb. or carbon build up in the intake area. I'm not an auto mechanic, used to be a Machinest Mate in the NAVY but there are no steam powered cars. Cured my one lung engine hard start difficulties by pouring right down the carbs throat till it stalled.

I plan on using it in my wifes Saturn at the next oil change. A tune up did not cure her slipping MPG.

I'll run Neutra in the oil and then just before the oil change I'll take off a vaccum connection and draw the SeaFoam into the combustion chamber till the engine starts a rough idle or stalls. Wait 15 minutes or so and restart.

If it is like my small engines everyone will think your fogging your yard for West Nile carring bugs.

Then an oil change with Schaeffer's 15w-40 and a PureOne filter.

Might be worth a try before you laydown some long green.