Auto-Rx application question?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, I'm new to the site and I have to say, there's a lot of great info here. Great site!
I'm no expert, but I do find this stuff very interesting. I've heard of Auto-Rx so I decided to give it a shot.

Some info:
I plan on using it on my 89 Pathfinder (V6) with 195K on it. I've been running Amsoil and/or Mobil 1 10W-30 in it for the last three years. I've been using 5K-7.5K drain intervals. I've liked the easier winter starts that the synthetics have afforded me. Nothing scientific here, the truck just turns over much easier in the harsh New England winters, which is when I do most of my driving...up to ski country.

Question:
I realize that I should run a dino oil after the 500 mile application, but I don't see any recommendation of adding it to synthetic initially? Also, what about going back to synthetic in the future, after the two applications (due to the higher mileage)?

Any help and insight is greatly appreciated.
grin.gif

You can add it to any kind of oil during the application, the only time you need to run dino
oil is on the oil change after Auto-rx, and only if you have a leak that needs sealing.

When Auto-rx is doing it's thing, it turns the seals a bit "floppy" and the dino oil after this will help harden the seals and make them sit flush with the metal again.

Thanks for the replies. I don't have any visible leaks, but I do consume a little oil, about 1/2-3/4 quart in 5K miles. I never needed to add dino oil, but I was changing my oil every 3K then, so it would be less noticeable. I didn't do the flush that Amsoil recommneds when I switched, but I did change the oil filter after a few hundred miles. The oil filter was loaded and I had a lot of gunk in my drain pan. When I saw that I went 300 miles and changed the filter again, and this time it was not nearly as bad.